CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2012, 05:04 PM   #16
tuna
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
 
tuna's Avatar
Thomas Cannell
String puller
Venice, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,094
Tim Cook's email regarding the Mac Pro mentioned they have something "really great" planned for "late next year".
__________________
www.puppetstring.com
 
Old 10-25-2012, 05:25 PM   #17
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna
Tim Cook's email regarding the Mac Pro mentioned they have something "really great" planned for "late next year".


Note that he said "something really great " not "a new mac pro". His wording is just vague enough so that if they do not release a new mac pro, they can say they never promised it. He is stringing along potential mac pro customers.

he also ended his statement with this:

Quote:
We also announced a MacBook Pro with a Retina Display that is a great solution for many pros.


I don't trust them to make what I need anymore. They've got to earn that trust back now.

Here's the ad for the new $1700 13 inch mac book pro with no dedicated GPU. The slogan is "For the Pro in all of us."


Last edited by Venkman : 10-25-2012 at 05:44 PM.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 06:16 PM   #18
tuna
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
 
tuna's Avatar
Thomas Cannell
String puller
Venice, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkman
I don't trust them to make what I need anymore. They've got to earn that trust back now.

Here's the ad for the new $1700 13 inch mac book pro with no dedicated GPU. The slogan is "For the Pro in all of us."


The 13" has never had a discreet GPU, also when he mentioned the rMBP he was referring to the then-newly announced 15" which does have a discreet GPU and is a pretty good workstation laptop. All in all, none of this is pertinent to rizon's original question, except the fact that it's highly unlikely a new Mac Pro will come out in January.
__________________
www.puppetstring.com
 
Old 10-25-2012, 06:19 PM   #19
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna
The 13" has never had a discreet GPU


And for that reason, I believe it is not good for the "pros" who run things like C4d, Maya, or even FCPX (which gets much of it's speed boost from GPU acceleration).

Quote:
also when he mentioned the rMBP he was referring to the then-newly announced 15"


Indeed he was.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna
All in all, none of this is pertinent to rizon's original question, except the fact that it's highly unlikely a new Mac Pro will come out in January.


It's my very round about way of saying I don't think an iMac, MacBook Pro, or Retina MacBook Pro are reasonable alternatives to an actual workstation, which I believe Apple will discontinue, despite posts in this thread mentioning it will return in Jan 2013.

The iMac may compete with the current Mac Pro on power/price, but it's only competing with Apple's own offerings and only then in CPU power. Given that, I think the slim form factor makes it risky to use on long term, CPU heavy tasks like rendering.

Last edited by Venkman : 10-25-2012 at 06:34 PM.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 08:31 PM   #20
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by basilisk
They could make a rackmount MacPro.

They discontinued the Xserve not yet two years ago. I doubt they will resurrect it any time soon, if ever.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 09:25 PM   #21
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
"we're working on something really great for later next year," Cook wrote.

not "late next year", just "later, next year".

I have a source that confirmed it was in the works before Cook announced it. They aren't discontinuing it. They are completely revamping it inside and out. I'm sure there are plenty people out there that still think OS X and iOS are merging too, but that also isn't going to happen.

Do you think Nvidia would have announced the Quadro K5000 Mac edition if they didn't have signs from Apple that the card would have a new PCI-x 3.0 workstation to sit in?

Last edited by cgbeige : 10-25-2012 at 09:28 PM.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 09:28 PM   #22
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgbeige
"we're working on something really great for later next year," Cook wrote.

not "late next year", just "later, next year".

I have a source that confirmed it was in the works before Cook announced it. They aren't discontinuing it. They are completely revamping it inside and out. I'm sure there are plenty people out there that still think OS X and iOS are merging too, but that also isn't going to happen.


I really, really hope that is the case.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 09:36 PM   #23
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
If you know how to use remote desktop, you can just carry around your laptop, and leave your render server at home. Just remote into your sever, and download the files from Dropbox. Upload the final frames back to Dropbox, and off you go...

-AJ
__________________

Last edited by AJ1 : 10-25-2012 at 09:38 PM.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 10:10 PM   #24
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
you don't need remote desktop. just use screen and ssh:

http://polygonspixelsandpaint.tumblr.com/post/701899285

scroll down to half way.
 
Old 11-01-2012, 04:25 PM   #25
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,017
maybe they'll introduce an iMacPro who knows. Regardless of what Apple will anounce on the pro desktop, I hope it will give lots of cpu cores (16-32) in a small form factor.

Either that or OSX for PC.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 11-01-2012, 04:31 PM   #26
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,669
I don't get the quest for a small form factor...
The mac pro is all about space, expansion, versatility, good cooling and sound buffering. Hard to get these in a small form factor.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 11-01-2012, 04:54 PM   #27
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,017
By small form factor, I don't mean the mini itx SSF standart. That's obviously not possible.
Rather something in the line of the HP's z600 builds (not the 620's) or even something smaller than that. With low power 22nm Xeons, SSDs, no DVD drives and such, things could get much smaller. Maybe nearly as small as a HTPC.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 11-01-2012, 06:00 PM   #28
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
if you want small, the Dell T5600 is small and quiet but it sacrifices storage space and the build quality is kind of crap
 
Old 11-02-2012, 01:24 PM   #29
dmeyer
raaaaaerrrrrrrrr!
 
dmeyer's Avatar
designer
de-zy-nur
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgbeige
if you can wait for the next-gen Mac Pro, it will be out around Jan, from what I can tell. I'm getting one and I'll be reviewing it for Ars Technica.


If they are waiting for Ivy Bridge Xeons it will be out, next Jan.
__________________
Fix it in pre.
 
Old 11-02-2012, 01:24 PM   #30
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.