CGTalk > Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 06:38 PM   #1
everlite
Expert
 
everlite's Avatar
portfolio
David Edwards
Professional Matte painter & concept Artist
Freelance DMP / 3d Generalist
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via Yahoo to everlite

Mari 2.0 - keyframing textures? why?!

I encountered a strange issue today by where I imported a shot camera into a Mari scene (simple building/environment asset), went to a specific frame (1502), created a projector, exported/unprojected the frame to Photoshop, did a little paint over and then took the PSD back to mari through the projector and baked to a layer. Now when I scrubbed the timeline backwards; ie before frame 1502 the texture I applied disappears, and when I scrubbed past frame 1502 it appears again. I later noticed that Mari had somehow automatically added a keyframe to the texture when bringing it back into Mari. Right clicking the layer and viewing the properties showed there were two Keyframes. Going back to the first frame and hitting delete keyframe seemed to resolve the issue.

So my question is; does anyone have any experience/understanding of the keyframes? Does Mari assume that when you have an animated camera in the scene that any projections will need to be animated? and as such; automatically adds a keyframe?

Thanks in advance.

David.
 
Old 06-27-2013, 08:56 PM   #2
earlyworm
car unenthusiast
 
earlyworm's Avatar
Will Earl
craftsperson
Grizzly Country, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,681
I was always under the impression that it didn't automatically add keyframes - perhaps the Mari<>Nuke bridge makes that assumption for doing paint fixes or you mistakenly hit the 'add keyframe' hotkey?
 
Old 06-27-2013, 10:06 PM   #3
everlite
Expert
 
everlite's Avatar
portfolio
David Edwards
Professional Matte painter & concept Artist
Freelance DMP / 3d Generalist
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via Yahoo to everlite

Thanks for the reply.

I'm not using the Mari/Nuke bridge at this time.

To my understanding i'm not adding any keyframes. I did a test where i scrubbed the timeline to frame 300, i then added a new layer, and this also automatically added a keyframe. I also noticed a number of other layers i have are keyframed at 0 and 100. While another layer, which i unprojected to photoshop and back also added a keyframe at 1502.

Adding to this, it seems some keyframes i can delete, while others i cant.

The whole keyframing system seems very confusing and extremely unmanageable. Aside from the - and + to add and delete keyframes, i can't see any other way to manage them.

In the work flow we're using, it's essential to be able to import a shot camera, go to a specific frame, and paint over, in somecases unproject to photoshop and back. So far this seems a mess with the way the keyframes are adding themselves in the background.

At the moment, i'm stuck with an asset in Mari that displays the layers from frame 1-100, then disappears from 101 - 1600 (the end of the shot cam) Sadly i need to be able to paint in the back end of the shot :/
 
Old 06-27-2013, 11:31 PM   #4
everlite
Expert
 
everlite's Avatar
portfolio
David Edwards
Professional Matte painter & concept Artist
Freelance DMP / 3d Generalist
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via Yahoo to everlite

Right click layer properties - number of keyframes on single layer currently 5! (no idea why)

Views timeline, and sees two keyframes, neither of which can be deleted

Foundry! .. your keyframe editor really sucks :/
 
Old 06-28-2013, 08:49 AM   #5
forelle
Know-it-All
portfolio
Jack Greasley
London , United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by everlite
Right click layer properties - number of keyframes on single layer currently 5! (no idea why)

Views timeline, and sees two keyframes, neither of which can be deleted

Foundry! .. your keyframe editor really sucks :/


Hi,

Could you drop an email to support@thefoundry.co.uk and we can help you out?

Thanks

Jack
 
Old 06-28-2013, 05:14 PM   #6
everlite
Expert
 
everlite's Avatar
portfolio
David Edwards
Professional Matte painter & concept Artist
Freelance DMP / 3d Generalist
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via Yahoo to everlite

Email sent.

Thank you.
 
Old 06-29-2013, 02:06 AM   #7
earlyworm
car unenthusiast
 
earlyworm's Avatar
Will Earl
craftsperson
Grizzly Country, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by everlite
In the work flow we're using, it's essential to be able to import a shot camera, go to a specific frame, and paint over, in somecases unproject to photoshop and back. So far this seems a mess with the way the keyframes are adding themselves in the background


The last time I specifically tried to do this was circa Mari 1.4 and the main two problems that I had was that I had to manually update the frame number that I wanted to project and I couldn't adjust the pan and scan of the buffer to correct misalignments in the projection.
 
Old 06-29-2013, 02:06 AM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.