CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
snichez
New Member
portfolio
Davied Kelley
The VFX guy
Free World Digital Designs
Hillsboro, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
RGB fluid render passes

So im trying to kick out render passes (beauty, diffuse, spec, incandesences ect...) for fluids but the only thing that gets kicked out is a beauty pass. If been searching around and came across a three point rgb lighting technique but unsure on how it completely works or set up. I also heard about some type of object volume shader technique. How does that work. Any help would completely appreciated. Ive attached a screen shot of what i'm trying to accomplish.
Thanks
http://vimeo.com/26613245
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen shot 2012-09-22 at 11.54.01 AM.jpg (94.0 KB, 71 views)
__________________
Let's Nuke the world!
 
Old 09-22-2012, 11:13 PM   #2
Aikiman
Pixel Collisions
 
Aikiman's Avatar
portfolio
Jeremy Raven
Wellington, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,582
rgb lighting technique I believe is just using a 3 point lighting rig using r-g-b for each light and render. One from the front left, one form the front right and one from the top.
__________________
www.jeremyraven.co.nz
Vimeo
 
Old 09-24-2012, 07:26 AM   #3
KHing
Veteran
portfolio
KaHing Cheuk
Re'al Sandbox production
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 36
As what Aikiman has pointed out, you can set it up using a rgb 3 point light.
Just rmb that you have to check "real light" option in maya fluid.

This is sth similar i did in the past:
http://vimeo.com/42689700#
 
Old 09-24-2012, 10:42 AM   #4
CerberusC
Lord of the posts
 
CerberusC's Avatar
Juan Gea
Bone-Studio Founder & Director
Bone-Studio
España
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,029
Can someone enlight me on how to use that RGB pass in comp?

I am completely clueless :S

Cheers.
__________________
If there's no spoon you must eat the soup with your hands, don't let the tool be your life, be an artist.
 
Old 09-24-2012, 10:56 AM   #5
DrWeeny
Infiltatring the industry
portfolio
Alexis BAUDOIN
CFX / FX / TD
Paris, France
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 138
I never use it but I think, as any rgb pass, you can relight or color corrected easier your fluid.
__________________
DrWeeny
My Blog
My Vimeo
LinkedIn
 
Old 09-24-2012, 12:50 PM   #6
KHing
Veteran
portfolio
KaHing Cheuk
Re'al Sandbox production
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Regardless of compositing software you use, you need to isolate your red, blue and green channel and adjust the color to your liking.

In AE look for a "Set matte" effects, or if you are using nuke you can shuffle individual rgb channels using the shuffle node.
 
Old 09-25-2012, 06:10 AM   #7
snichez
New Member
portfolio
Davied Kelley
The VFX guy
Free World Digital Designs
Hillsboro, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
SO by doing this, it just help to relight my fluids in composite app correct, but how about other passes? Maybe something like this
http://vimeo.com/25401258.
__________________
Let's Nuke the world!
 
Old 09-25-2012, 09:19 AM   #8
CerberusC
Lord of the posts
 
CerberusC's Avatar
Juan Gea
Bone-Studio Founder & Director
Bone-Studio
España
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,029
I still don't understand the relighting idea (why we should relight in comp?)

If we light things in 3D, we get renders, we get different components of the light and elements, why we may want to relight the scene with a lighting system that doesn't even have any kind of real light behavior or shadows?

I'm a veteran in 3D, but i still don't understand this, and i would like to, because i understand this is a common practice, but... why?

Cheers.
__________________
If there's no spoon you must eat the soup with your hands, don't let the tool be your life, be an artist.
 
Old 09-25-2012, 06:03 PM   #9
KHing
Veteran
portfolio
KaHing Cheuk
Re'al Sandbox production
Singapore, Singapore
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by CerberusC
I still don't understand the relighting idea (why we should relight in comp?)

If we light things in 3D, we get renders, we get different components of the light and elements, why we may want to relight the scene with a lighting system that doesn't even have any kind of real light behavior or shadows?

I'm a veteran in 3D, but i still don't understand this, and i would like to, because i understand this is a common practice, but... why?

Cheers.


Being in a small studio, we do not have the luxury of huge render farms, or well organised pipeline throughout the production. Sometimes we fx guys have to work at the same time as the lighting guys on the same shot, and thus it is difficult to match our lighting perfectly. If the lighting is not done properly, we will waste time having to render the whole shot over again, which is unhealthy for the production. So ultimately this saves time and trouble.
 
Old 09-25-2012, 07:39 PM   #10
animatedfox
what the ?!?!
 
animatedfox's Avatar
portfolio
Benjamin Fox
Seat 43
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 895
I also find that the RGB pass for fluids can give you the ability to tweak the look of the final fluid, not 'relighting' really, but just give it more depth/definition.
It is quick, easy and can really add that extra tweakable oomph that makes people think you know what you are doing.
Give it a try and see what you can do with an RGB pass and a few color correct nodes in Nuke.
 
Old 09-26-2012, 08:59 PM   #11
snichez
New Member
portfolio
Davied Kelley
The VFX guy
Free World Digital Designs
Hillsboro, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6
So Im going to try this out tonight but im still interested in how to pull off more passes and what other passes are capable? Ill let you know how it goes
__________________
Let's Nuke the world!
 
Old 07-19-2013, 04:12 PM   #12
Zeedorf
Terafun
 
Zeedorf's Avatar
Agoston Princz
cg artist
Budapest, Hungary
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Incandesance

You can plug sampler info to fluid incandescence ramp.
normalCamera for eg.

connectAttr -f samplerInfo1.normalCamera fluidShape1.incandescence[0].incandescence_Color;

Just make sure, color ramp is all black. And incandescence should have only one color flag.
 
Old 07-19-2013, 04:12 PM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.