CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2013, 01:45 AM   #1
NikoSeba
New Member
portfolio
Niko
Buenos Aires, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Exporting materials to CryEngine

Hi! This question involves Maya and CryEngine. More CryEngine than anything, but I didn't know where to post.

You see, I'm using CryEngine 3 SDK. I'm new to it, so there's something I want to know. Is there a way for a material to have more than one texture? Not overlayed, but to select them for different objects.

You see, I made two walls. Both should have the same material, but a different texture. The only way I know to do this is to create two materials with the same exact attributes just to allow for two textures, but I would end up with lots of materials. There must be a way to apply the same material to more than one object, and then select the texture used for that object.

And I'm exporting everything from Maya using the plugins. Just so you know. So, any help? Thanks.
 
Old 06-05-2013, 07:48 AM   #2
antweiler
Expert
 
antweiler's Avatar
Robert Kopf
Senior 3D-Artist
MBL Development
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 545
There is no way in the CryEngine to have one material using various diffuse textures, unless, you put your textures into one map. You can copy your settings very easily from one material to another in the CryEngine editor, though.
 
Old 06-05-2013, 06:52 PM   #3
NikoSeba
New Member
portfolio
Niko
Buenos Aires, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by antweiler
There is no way in the CryEngine to have one material using various diffuse textures, unless, you put your textures into one map. You can copy your settings very easily from one material to another in the CryEngine editor, though.


Oh, well, so the ideal thing is to have many materials with same attributes just to have different textures? Well, unless they take up memory space I don't think that's too much of a problem.

Is there a game engine in which you can do that?
 
Old 06-09-2013, 10:19 PM   #4
jgibz
Lord of the posts
 
jgibz's Avatar
portfolio
Jack Gibbons
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 787
I've been working with the cryEngine3 SDK lately, I've found it can be a real pain when you try to use one texture on multiple cryexport nodes. Each material can only be assigned to one material group so you have to make duplicates of your material. This is done automatically with MayaCE3, but it still kind of bugs me.
__________________

gibby3d.com
 
Old 06-09-2013, 10:19 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.