CGTalk > Techniques > Character Rigging
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
auri
New Member
 
auri's Avatar
portfolio
James Arvin
3D Animator
Stardock Entertainment
Ann Arbor, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Transfer a Maya rig into Max?

Hey everyone,

I am pretty sure the answer is “no” to this question, but I was wondering if anyone knows if there is a way to transfer a complete rig (controls and all) created in Maya into 3ds Max. It seems like a shady process, but can it be done?


-James
__________________
Portfolio/Blog:www.jamesarvin.tumblr.com
 
Old 02-13-2013, 06:46 AM   #2
CMM
Developer
portfolio
Christian McDonald
Developer
Mississauga, Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 26
Don't do it! You have to rebuild the rig and there are few reasons for this. Max and Maya are fundamentally different. This is why many features in Max don't exist in Maya and vise-versa. What I do when converting a rig between software is take the export, import it, use the joint/bone positions to create my new bones and then delete EVERYTHING except the mesh and materials. Sometimes you can keep the control objects...sometimes....

Sorry I didn't have a magical answer :(
 
Old 02-13-2013, 03:07 PM   #3
auri
New Member
 
auri's Avatar
portfolio
James Arvin
3D Animator
Stardock Entertainment
Ann Arbor, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
Well, i figured as much haha. Just wanted to make sure I didnt waste a bunch of time if there was some magical way to do it. I guess getting the bones with proper orients is better than starting completely over. Thanks again for the response

- James
__________________
Portfolio/Blog:www.jamesarvin.tumblr.com
 
Old 02-28-2013, 12:40 PM   #4
dunkelzahn
makes it happen
 
dunkelzahn's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph D.
3D Artist/ Motion Designer
Frankfurt, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,084
Even though I can feel CMNīs pain , I have to add that there ist the possibility of using the FBX file format for the transfer of simple rigs and animations between Maya and Max. Keep in mind that advanced controls, scripts, driven keys and other higher level rigging thingies are not covered. So, donīt step up to your client saying "Sure thatīs no problem, Sir".
 
Old 02-28-2013, 03:43 PM   #5
auri
New Member
 
auri's Avatar
portfolio
James Arvin
3D Animator
Stardock Entertainment
Ann Arbor, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 13
@dunkelzahn thanks for the response, I will likely just be keeping bone placement, so if anything else transfers, thats great Fortunately this processes is not per client request, its for personal stuff. That would be a nightmare otherwise haha
__________________
Portfolio/Blog:www.jamesarvin.tumblr.com
 
Old 02-28-2013, 03:43 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.