CGTalk > Software > Pixologic ZBrush
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2012, 10:38 PM   #1
Hammermeister
New Member
 
Hammermeister's Avatar
portfolio
Cassidy Hammermeister
Production Artist
Yoostar Games/Twrrl
Granada Hills, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Question Help! New ZBrush User ReMesh Problems

Hello all! I am a new ZBrush user and for the life of me can't seem to get the ReMesher working correctly. Despite the resolution or polish, my base shape is giving me some strange, unexpected results:



I'm 95% sure I reset transforms and all that before I brought it in, but again, I am very new to ZBrush.

The settings I used (as reccomended by my teacher whom I no longer have access to) are:
ZBrush ReMesh Problem | ReMeshed at 256k Res with a Polish of 10 | Original Blade (Divided, sub-ds not deleted) 936k-ish ploys | ReMeshed blade 123k-ish ploys

Any help on how I can fix this or skirt this issue would be HUGELY appreciated, as I have quite a bit to get through.

Thanks in advance!
 
Old 01-01-2013, 03:22 PM   #2
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 879
try setting the Polish to 1
if its not looking good then project it> tool>project all
project all you select your remesh tool and press >tool>project all
this project the messed up shape back to the original shape, some time this works good and some times it doesn't.
but then again you can dynamesh it and better yet you can QRemesh it.
both of these setting are under tool>Geometry

Last edited by informerman : 01-01-2013 at 03:28 PM.
 
Old 01-01-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
Hammermeister
New Member
 
Hammermeister's Avatar
portfolio
Cassidy Hammermeister
Production Artist
Yoostar Games/Twrrl
Granada Hills, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by informerman
try setting the Polish to 1
if its not looking good then project it> tool>project all
project all you select your remesh tool and press >tool>project all
this project the messed up shape back to the original shape, some time this works good and some times it doesn't.
but then again you can dynamesh it and better yet you can QRemesh it.
both of these setting are under tool>Geometry


Thanks a ton, Informerman! I actually discovered the little 'mirror' toggles stamped onto the 'ReMesh All' button, and once i switched that off the shape popped right into form, and the projection was a cinch. I haven't tried the dynamesh option yet, but I will be looking into that next as I have heard good things about QRemesh (though I haven't yet tried it out.) Thanks for pointing that out!

Thanks again, Informerman!

Cheers!
 
Old 01-02-2013, 12:28 AM   #4
informerman
Expert
 
informerman's Avatar
portfolio
EZ-Brush
dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 879
yeah you need to have good eyes to see that little x,y,z text on the remesh all button
 
Old 01-02-2013, 12:28 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.