CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 01:02 PM   #1
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
Stitch & Sew and Bridge tools

Can anyone explain to me the difference between Stitch & Sew and the Bridge tool? As far as I can establish they perform pretty much the same function, don't they? When would you use one over the other and why?
 
Old 10-07-2013, 01:57 PM   #2
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
Only difference I can see with the Bridge Tool and Shift+LMB on the Stitch&Sew is you can't create tris with the S&S.

Also, you can connect things in Poly Mode using Bridge.

But yeah, a lot of their functions are pretty similar.
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
Thanks for that. I thought I must have been missing a trick! ;o)
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:07 PM   #4
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
They are quite different depending on the modelling mode. Stich and Sew can bridge multiple edges and points and, with nothing selected, it acts as a weld tool. I barely use bridge anymore as I find it too limited.

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:11 PM   #5
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
Thanks brasco. That's interesting. I rely on Bridge a lot so I may look at experimenting a bit more with S & S to see what benefis it provides.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:29 PM   #6
JDP
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 828
As Brasco mentioned they are quite different. With stitch and sow you can also get different results with the use of modifier keys. The help file gives clear info on this so it shouldn't take long to work out how to use it.

Cheers.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:38 PM   #7
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Pretty different tools, really.
Bridge creates new geometry, by adding polygons between whatever you point it at.
Stitch & Sew will weld things together, basically, so no new geometry is created.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 02:45 PM   #8
kvb
Now with Less Gout!
 
kvb's Avatar
Kevin V. Barnum
Graphic Designer/3D Artist
Colorvision International
Orlando, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffouille
Pretty different tools, really.
Bridge creates new geometry, by adding polygons between whatever you point it at.
Stitch & Sew will weld things together, basically, so no new geometry is created.



Unless you hold down shift
__________________
www.kvbarnum.com
LOBODESTROYO!!!
 
Old 10-07-2013, 03:01 PM   #9
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Yes true, in edge mode it does, forgot about that!
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 03:58 PM   #10
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffouille
Yes true, in edge mode it does, forgot about that!


Or edge, or poly..
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 10-07-2013, 04:27 PM   #11
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
While it works in polygon mode, I wouldn't use it over the bridge tool, for the simple reason that it preserves the polygons you are bridging (so you end up with polys inside your mesh).

But you're right, it also works in poly mode. I guess I use the Bridge tool to create geometry instead and S&S because I like to separate both behaviors into distinctive tools.

In any case, thanks for pointing that out, we learn something new everyday (or relearn if we forget!), I ll use S&S in edge mode more often, great workflow.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 05:14 PM   #12
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Yeah I think there's the main difference, you can't delete existing polys on a closed poly to closed poly operation with S+S. I was actually meaning you can close holes, creating new geometry with it in any of the modes.

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 10-07-2013, 05:31 PM   #13
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
Most of the time I tend to use the Bridge Tool.
If I need to connect whole loops I'd normally use Bridge on the ends, then Close Polygon Hole to do the rest in one go (+Remove N-Gons to clean it up).

I just found having to select the edge loops to S&S takes a lot longer for me.
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 10-07-2013, 06:20 PM   #14
Neil V
Expert
Neil John Vaughan
Creative Director
ENVY
Worcester, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 752
Thanks guys for the responses. I've been playing around with both to feel the differences and they do give you subtle different results. Using S & S while holding Shift is a nice workflow though and seems to give this tool a bit more flexibility. That said, Bridge does exactly what it was designed for so you can't argue with that. Interesting to play with the differences though.
 
Old 10-07-2013, 06:20 PM   #15
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.