CGTalk > Software > E-on Software Vue
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2013, 03:48 PM   #1
zacleck
Frequenter
portfolio
zac leckscheid
3d artist
Minneapolis, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 107
Export mesh issues

I need to get some terrain exported out of Vue and I'm having some issues with it. We can't render out of Vue because of the times we were getting, so I tried the export object option and it worked fine for the other procedural terrain I slapped together, but not for the specific piece that I modified to fit my needs. When I export it the mesh doesn't match what I'm looking at in Vue. It almost looks like it's ignoring the sculpting I did on the object and is just exporting what was originally generated procedurally. I exported the mesh to be used in Lightwave but I'm trying an obj version right now so I'll see what the ends up looking like, but I wanted to check and see if there was some process necessary to effectively bake out the sculpting I did in Vue so that it exports properly.

Another minor issue that I've had with it is that the texture maps it generates don't align with how I've set them up in Vue either. I have very little experience in Vue so it's a pretty basic setup over all. Just a procedural piece of terrain with a snowy mountain mixed material applied.

Any guidance on using this program would be appreciated
 
Old 10-03-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
sadkkf
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
What version are you using?

I'm using 11 Complete and have exported unmodified terrains without a problem for LightWave. It may be you need Infinite / Xstream to export modified terrains. They have weird limitations sometimes.
__________________
Ban shark finning!
 
Old 10-03-2013, 06:03 PM   #3
zacleck
Frequenter
portfolio
zac leckscheid
3d artist
Minneapolis, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 107
Sorry, should have been more specific. I was using 11 Xstream, I think, coming into Lightwave 11.5.

It exported the unmodified procedural terrains fine, except for the textures, which didn't come out properly.
 
Old 10-03-2013, 07:00 PM   #4
sadkkf
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 13
Yeah, sorry, but that's out of my league. I don't have Xstream to test.

Can you export the textures separately?
__________________
Ban shark finning!
 
Old 10-03-2013, 07:00 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.