CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2014, 02:03 AM   #1
Digit
_____
 
Digit's Avatar
portfolio
Andy
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Newbie - help with what I'm sure is basic error

I downloaded some stamps from the autodesk community site. But when I use them via the imprint tool I get this weird shearing on top of a raised ring. What am I doing wrong?
Thanks in advance.
Andy
 
Old 02-08-2014, 10:03 AM   #2
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Have you tried the imprint tool with other MB stamps?

After that do you have a link to the stamp you are using? It could be just the stamp image. Because it looks like there is a value all the way to the edges which would explain it.

Load up the square alpha for instance and you'll see a similar thing.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 02-08-2014, 06:57 PM   #3
Digit
_____
 
Digit's Avatar
portfolio
Andy
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
The regular stamps are working fine. The stamps I get from the autodesk site are always messed up - this one for example:
http://area.autodesk.com/mudcom/sta...errain-stamp-01

I have tried the reset button but no luck
 
Old 02-08-2014, 09:11 PM   #4
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
Yeah notice how that stamp has a grey value all the way to the edge?



That means it will raise from the surface just like you have there in your image using the imprint brush.

It has to fade to black (0 value) in order to not raise on the surface:



The solution is to edit the image so that it fades to Black or use another that does.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 02-08-2014, 09:14 PM   #5
Digit
_____
 
Digit's Avatar
portfolio
Andy
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 759
Yes, that makes sense but what about the shearing? All the brushes I get from autodesk do that. Anyway, I notice that if i download it outside of mud box, then bring it into photoshop, and save it back out it will properly (well, it still raises up due to the greyscale but it doesn't shear).

Weird thing is that the ones I get straight from autodesk are getting even more distorted over time to the point where they kind of roll up. Very strange.
 
Old 02-09-2014, 10:59 AM   #6
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 654
That is strange.

Maybe you could report it here:

http://mudboxfeedback.autodesk.com/...in-mudbox-forum

Provide a link to this thread.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 02-09-2014, 10:59 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.