CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2016, 09:19 AM   #181
colt
never free, never me
 
colt's Avatar
portfolio
Nico Rehberg
Light Guy
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 375
Good point about the displacement connection. I will update the readme file.

Did you test it with vray 3.3? I'm not sure if I need to recompile it for the update. We haven't switched at work yet so I couldn't test it.

Nico
__________________
www.nico-rehberg.de
 
Old 03-15-2016, 11:42 AM   #182
dEnbom
PRO
CGSociety Member
portfolio
David Enbom
3d artist
Freelance
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by colt
Did you test it with vray 3.3?


Yup I'm on 3.3, works a charm!
__________________
Don't put your computer hardware in your signature...
 
Old 05-11-2016, 08:19 PM   #183
colt
never free, never me
 
colt's Avatar
portfolio
Nico Rehberg
Light Guy
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 375
Added Windows/Maya 2016Ext2 for the deformer and MR shader. No Linux, if somebody desperately needs it let me know.
How time flies...
__________________
www.nico-rehberg.de
 
Old 05-11-2016, 08:36 PM   #184
dEnbom
PRO
CGSociety Member
portfolio
David Enbom
3d artist
Freelance
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 125
I think I speak for everyone here Nico when I say thanks so much for these updates and staying on top of things.
__________________
Don't put your computer hardware in your signature...
 
Old 05-23-2016, 09:18 AM   #185
Uniel
Explorer
portfolio
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by colt
Good point about the displacement connection. I will update the readme file.

Did you test it with vray 3.3?

Nico


Hey Nico,

Thanks for this plugin! I'm having trouble with the VRay Shader, using VRay 3.3 in Maya 2016sp5. It shows up fine in the 2D Textures list, but when I add it in Hypershade i get these errors:

shadingNode -asTexture VRayHotOcean;
// Result: VRayHotOcean2 //
shadingNode -asUtility place2dTexture;
// Result: place2dTexture2 //
connectAttr place2dTexture2.outUV VRayHotOcean2.uv;
// Result: Connected place2dTexture2.outUV to VRayHotOcean2.uvCoord. //
connectAttr place2dTexture2.outUvFilterSize VRayHotOcean2.uvFilterSize;
// Result: Connected place2dTexture2.outUvFilterSize to VRayHotOcean2.uvFilterSize. //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Warning: Unsupported texture VRayHotOcean //
// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
// Warning: Unsupported texture VRayHotOcean //

Any ideas what's going wrong?
Thanks!
 
Old 06-23-2016, 06:24 PM   #186
andreinfante
Explorer
portfolio
Andre Infante
Costa Rica
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Hello, yes.. great plugin! We used it in a project and worked perfectly!

I am having the same issue as Uniel:


// Error: ERROR: Could not create plugin TexHotOcean ! //
 
Old 06-24-2016, 10:14 AM   #187
colt
never free, never me
 
colt's Avatar
portfolio
Nico Rehberg
Light Guy
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 375
This is usually the case when Vray can't find the .dll from the shader, because the environment variable is not set up correctly.
Check by using
Code:
getenv "VRAY_FOR_MAYA2016_PLUGINS_x64"
as mel code. It should point to the folder with the dll.

You could also try copying the .dll into vrays bin folder.

If that does not work either take a look at vrays output when the plugin is loaded. It should print something like this:

[2016/Jun/22|11:44:54] V-Ray: V-Ray core version is 3.25.01
[2016/Jun/22|11:44:54] V-Ray: Loading plugins from "C:/Program Files/Autodesk/Maya2016/vray/vrayplugins/vray_*.dll"
[2016/Jun/22|11:44:57] V-Ray: 74 plugin(s) loaded successfully
[2016/Jun/22|11:44:57] V-Ray: Loading plugins from "C:/Users/administrator/Documents/maya/2016/modules/Houdini_Ocean_Toolkit/vray/vrayplugins/vray_*.dll"
[2016/Jun/22|11:44:57] V-Ray: 1 plugin(s) loaded successfully

If it finds the .dll but has a problem loading it, there will be an error message there.

Cheers,
Nico
__________________
www.nico-rehberg.de
 
Old 06-24-2016, 05:22 PM   #188
andreinfante
Explorer
portfolio
Andre Infante
Costa Rica
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Hello Nico, thank you very much for your response.

That did it!! I actually copied both files (txt and dll) into various directories until it loaded correctly your vray example scene.

Thanks!! =)

André.
 
Old 11-11-2016, 09:16 PM   #189
dEnbom
PRO
CGSociety Member
portfolio
David Enbom
3d artist
Freelance
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 125
Hej Nico,

Just wanted to check if there's any chance of a 2017 build anytime soon?

Cheers /D
__________________
Don't put your computer hardware in your signature...
 
Old 11-13-2016, 07:07 PM   #190
colt
never free, never me
 
colt's Avatar
portfolio
Nico Rehberg
Light Guy
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 375
Hi David,

with the new BOSS system in Maya 2017 I was thinking that HOT is rather outdated now and not needed anymore.
And it feels kind of that way since you are only the second person asking for a Maya 2017 version, even though 2017 is available for some time now. Usually people start mailing me as soon as a new Maya is released.

So, did you look at BOSS? Is it a valid successor? I only played with it, nothing serious. But it does look quite promising.

Cheers,
Nico
__________________
www.nico-rehberg.de
 
Old 11-30-2016, 12:57 PM   #191
dEnbom
PRO
CGSociety Member
portfolio
David Enbom
3d artist
Freelance
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by colt
Hi David,

with the new BOSS system in Maya 2017 I was thinking that HOT is rather outdated now and not needed anymore.
And it feels kind of that way since you are only the second person asking for a Maya 2017 version, even though 2017 is available for some time now. Usually people start mailing me as soon as a new Maya is released.

So, did you look at BOSS? Is it a valid successor? I only played with it, nothing serious. But it does look quite promising.

Cheers,
Nico


Hey Nico,

Well partly I agree, but partly I disagree. One of the major perks of boss is that it can combine spectral waves with collisions, and also easily influense a bifrost sim, but that we can do with hot too.

The thing is though, that I don't see them as competitors. I see boss as something I use when I know I'm going to sim, and then I get simulated liquid for foam etc. But when I use HOT it's more of a procedural approach that doesn't have time for sim, and it also has capabilities that boss doesn't have like access to vertex colors, presets etc. So for me it's two different things.

If you find that the interest is so low I completely understand that you don't want to spend more time release more versions especially since maya updates so often these days, just wanted to give my two cents. All in all thanks for the effort!
__________________
Don't put your computer hardware in your signature...
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.