CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 03:02 PM   #1
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Slow motion without rescale time ?

Is there a way to "render every Nth Frame" with a value of 0.5 oder 0.25 ?

To create a slow motion of the complete sequence without to use rescale time ?
 
Old 12-03-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,654
Use the new 2013 Retime All Tool. Use a maxscript "Bullet Time" rendering tool to render ticks instead of frames.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 12-04-2012, 10:05 AM   #3
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Thanks for the ideas...

I try the new Retime All Tool, but it doesn't work good in my scene. Seems that i too much objects with animation. So the performance is ugly and i can't work...

"render ticks instead of frames" is exactly what i need. I looked into the code of Bullet Time... It used the normal API and starts rendering with "render"...

I found one interesting thing in the docu http://docs.autodesk.com/3DSMAX/14/...804B20-1968.htm
Quote:
Starting with 3ds Max 5, the parameters frame: , fromframe: and toframe: accept time values instead of numbers. Setting them to float values allows for sub-frame rendering!


So the boring thing here is, that 3dsmax can render in smaller steps than frames, but we can insert them into the render dialogue :(
 
Old 12-04-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedie
So the boring thing here is, that 3dsmax can render in smaller steps than frames, but we can insert them into the render dialogue :(


Create a new idea for this, please vote here:

http://3dsmaxfeedback.autodesk.com/...ame-as-float-va
 
Old 12-04-2012, 11:18 AM   #5
RGhost
Expert
 
RGhost's Avatar
portfolio
Mike Samoilov
3D Artist
Moscow, Russia
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
You can also check my tutorial how to make frozen time (slowdown) without scripts.
__________________
Royal Ghost | veda3d.com
--
Muscle female WIP [nude,stereoscopic]
My 3dsmax scripts
 
Old 12-04-2012, 01:56 PM   #6
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
I have the idea, to change the "Every Nth" number in the backburner monitor. But insert 0.5 would freeze the monitor reproducible :(

@RGhost: Thanks, that a good idea!
 
Old 12-04-2012, 02:22 PM   #7
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
The video post way, doesn't work. Maybe it is because i used iray in this project. max starts rendering, after first frame it consume more and more RAM and windows swap heavy and slow down the system...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:08 PM   #8
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Have create a new test scene with 2013. It also consume too much RAM, reproducible. With MR (not iray) and as a network render job...

Same scene works, if its rendered locally and not with backburner...
 
Old 12-04-2012, 03:55 PM   #9
RGhost
Expert
 
RGhost's Avatar
portfolio
Mike Samoilov
3D Artist
Moscow, Russia
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 210
Maybe backburner didn't support frame:ticks... also you may try batch render.
__________________
Royal Ghost | veda3d.com
--
Muscle female WIP [nude,stereoscopic]
My 3dsmax scripts
 
Old 09-27-2013, 02:47 PM   #10
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedie
I try the new Retime All Tool, but it doesn't work good in my scene. Seems that i too much objects with animation. So the performance is ugly and i can't work...

Same problem, same result with max 2014:

I have a scene and need to slowdown the complete animation. I try "retime all" and it's useless. It's freeze max, because retime use only a one CPU core. Question is: I wonder at all why it is so complex to retime a simple keyframe animation?

Vote: http://3dsmaxfeedback.autodesk.com/...me-tool-improve

So again my question: How to simple slowdown a complete scene?

Is there a maxscript out there to simply slowdown keyframes by a factor? e.g. 0.5 ?

EDIT: Time Configuration / re-scale Time sucks, too. Does nothing. Seems to be broken?
 
Old 09-27-2013, 03:01 PM   #11
jedie
Expert
portfolio
jens d.
jojo, Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 336
Now i used the old-school Scale Keys Tool ...

The boring thing here is, that is will result in keyframes with not on "rounded" Frames, but on FRAME:TICKS...
 
Old 09-27-2013, 07:17 PM   #12
daniel77
Expert
 
daniel77's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Tegeland
CGI Artist
brickland
Gothenburg, Sweden
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Simply set the fps to a higher value than 25/30, like 200 fps. That will get you a slomo effect
 
Old 09-27-2013, 08:54 PM   #13
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
Bobo has posted a script to do this a while ago.
I think this is it: http://forums.cgsociety.org/archive...p/t-819871.html
 
Old 09-27-2013, 08:54 PM   #14
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.