CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2011, 07:36 PM   #1
Stefanlp
New Member
portfolio
Stefan
Skopje, Macedonia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Modeling a character

Ok, so i recently started modeling a character by a tutorial on 3dtotal, but i have a problem with the leg, i do all the things stated in the tutorial but my leg looks blocky whether his looks really smooth, and seems to have more polygons than mine.
the tutorial


 
Old 07-07-2011, 09:34 PM   #2
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Did you use turbosmooth or meshsmooth modifier? Which options did you check? show a picture of the stack.
__________________
 
Old 07-07-2011, 09:38 PM   #3
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,979
How many iterations in MS or TS?
 
Old 07-09-2011, 07:44 PM   #4
Stefanlp
New Member
portfolio
Stefan
Skopje, Macedonia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21

i have meshsmooth and 1 iteration, the subdivision method is nurms

Last edited by Stefanlp : 07-09-2011 at 07:56 PM.
 
Old 07-09-2011, 07:55 PM   #5
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,979
Increase it to 2.
 
Old 07-09-2011, 07:57 PM   #6
Stefanlp
New Member
portfolio
Stefan
Skopje, Macedonia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
i will try but i don't think it will work.

Edit: Nope it just added more polygons but it's still blocky.

Last edited by Stefanlp : 07-09-2011 at 08:08 PM.
 
Old 07-11-2011, 01:23 AM   #7
Heber
is a Cylon!
 
Heber's Avatar
portfolio
Heber Alvarado
Senior Character Artist
Microsoft
Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,707
this is literally the first tutorial I ever did as well, seems like yesterday...
anyways I think he is just making better use of the geometry gotta push and pull those points more to get more of an effect from the geometry you have.
__________________
artstuff
 
Old 07-11-2011, 01:32 AM   #8
Stefanlp
New Member
portfolio
Stefan
Skopje, Macedonia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heber
this is literally the first tutorial I ever did as well, seems like yesterday...
anyways I think he is just making better use of the geometry gotta push and pull those points more to get more of an effect from the geometry you have.


but whatever i try his shape is just more round than mine.
 
Old 07-11-2011, 10:37 PM   #9
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Post an unsmoothed .obj and .max file so we can check for errors in the mesh.
__________________
 
Old 07-12-2011, 12:31 AM   #10
Stefanlp
New Member
portfolio
Stefan
Skopje, Macedonia
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
 
Old 07-12-2011, 10:30 PM   #11
Psyk0
Freelance chacha teacher
 
Psyk0's Avatar
portfolio
Patrick Boisvert
3D / 2D Artist
Soldak Entertainment
Quebec, Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to Psyk0
Erm okay, i don't think i've ever encountered this in 9 years of 3d max. Unless you broke something when exporting to .obj (i can't open the max file since i'm on 2010) there is something seriously wrong with the mesh. I tried to fix it with STL check, no dice, throw on a reset x form, nope, create a box and attach the mesh to it = fail.

Whatever i do, i cannot change smoothing groups, however the mesh behaves normally when i add a meshsmooth on it. It goes FUBAR when i use turbosmooth on it and finally it turns to pure black when i use NURMS under "subdivision surface"

The only way i could fix the mesh was to subdivide it once and collapse it to editable poly, so that means you loose the control cage (unsubdivided mesh).

Try a simple box and subdivide it, see if the behavior is correct...then i suggest starting over and avoid doing what you did last time.
__________________
 
Old 07-14-2011, 10:16 AM   #12
themightyleaf
New Member
portfolio
Steven
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
In the tutorial they add two extra edge loops before smoothing, which you missed.
They also seem to skip a step of shaping these new edges and the entire model before/after smoothing.

When i took your .obj into Maya the vertex normals were locked at random angles, which caused black spots to appear when smoothed. In Maya you can "unlock" the normals and then smooth to fix this, but i have no idea how you'd do that in 3ds Max.
 
Old 07-14-2011, 10:16 AM   #13
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.