CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 06:17 PM   #46
another mime
Michael5188's Avatar
Michael Sime
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,759
Originally Posted by Artbot
Whoever added the clickable wheel should be punished by having every single button in his or her world converted to a clickable wheel button.

Interesting, I've never had trouble clicking a scroll wheel on my mice, or really heard anyone complain about it before... maybe I've just been lucky with mice that have good mouse wheel clickers.

One key element is the mouse wheel has to scroll with ticks, not be a smooth scroll. If it's a smooth scroll then yes, it will scroll when you try to click.
Old 02-22-2013, 06:45 PM   #47
Mostly Harmless
Artbot's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
Richard Green
The Man Who Sold the World
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,122
I've always had mice with the scroll wheel with ticks. It's just that I have to completely stop what I'm doing and carefully apply pressure to just the right spot on the wheel. I work mainly in Max, which has the view-rotate command on the center mb (actually alt+cmb) and having to slow down to carefully click it about a hundred+ times an hour would be unacceptable.

Old 02-22-2013, 08:48 PM   #48
Daddy x 4
WyattHarris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Wyatt Harris
Baton Rouge, USA
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,756
I can click the MMB I just don't like it. I don't know about you guys but I've always had a gorilla grip on everything. As a kid my pencil strokes would go through the paper before long so it was inevitable I would do the same with a mouse. Not using MMB very often when I do need to use it for something I tend to mash it way to hard and it slips.

Like I said, I just don't like it but I can use it.
HMC: Model Collection
WIP: Harris Nut House
WIP: WarCraft Troll Dig it!
Old 02-22-2013, 11:44 PM   #49
manuqc's Avatar
Manuel Huertas Marchena
Lighting & Lookdev TD
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 155
3ds 2009... 64bit, strong and not cluttered
Old 02-23-2013, 12:17 AM   #50
Casey R Williams
Lansignum Studios
Morgantown, USA
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 484
Originally Posted by mustique
Thousands of presets of photoreal, animation ready 100 million poly humans / animals / buildings and environments / effects that animate and interact and render in realtime according to the story script or just by yelling "action!".

I played through a couple of vintage documentary/promo videos about the early days of CG on youtube yesterday. Pixars early days, softimage promos etc... I think if we give it another 30 years, we will get something along the lines of the paragraph above .

Isn't that what iClone/Poser/Daz would eventually become given ongoing development? I'll admit I got into Poser because I didn't want to take the time to model figures. I just wanted ready made people do place alongside my mechanical designs for a sense of scale/atmosphere. But then I quickly discovered the bias against using pre-made assets and Poser in general. Problem is it is very hard for one person to create something on a large scale, such as a bustling city environment or sprawling battlefield. Hopefully procedural tools will sidestep the current stigma against using such pre-fab objects.
Old 02-23-2013, 12:32 AM   #51
Lord of the posts
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,305
Thousands of presets of photoreal, animation ready 100 million poly humans / animals / buildings and environments

Well you have Softimage CrowdFX
Old 02-23-2013, 02:44 AM   #52
Marsel Khadiyev
Coffee-to-Code Converter
Marsel Khadiyev's Avatar
Marsel Khadiyev
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 427
Originally Posted by soryn
MAX2AE works fine, I think that is actually the best solution to integrate the two.
but I also think it should be deeply integrated in main software, the new interoperability from MAX2013 gives some bright perspective with the new "compositor-link", unfortunately it doesn't work that good every time.

both Autodesk and Adobe should take this to the next step


Can you please email me at marsel.khadiyev (at) ?

Thank you
Old 02-23-2013, 02:44 AM   #53
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.