CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 12:48 AM   #1
Navstar
Expert
 
Navstar's Avatar
N Parker
Mograph Dude
Los%2BAngeles, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,134
Picture Viewer Render does not equal Viewport Render

Any idea what's going on here?

I have three splines Surface deformed onto a cached cloth simulation. Everything looks fine in the viewport and viewport renders. But in final render, the splines aren't getting distorted.
Attached Images
File Type: png Viewport.png (27.0 KB, 23 views)
File Type: png Render-Viewport.png (10.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: png Picture-Viewer.png (19.2 KB, 23 views)
__________________
----end of line
 
Old 02-16-2013, 04:27 AM   #2
dataflow
Expert
 
dataflow's Avatar
portfolio
james hooten
digital media
TAFE
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,065
could you post the c4d file
__________________
Dataflow Donation Cinema 4D Beta Tester
 
Old 02-16-2013, 06:38 AM   #3
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,445
you should never rely on the viewport for accuracy of shapes animations and deformations. Anything calculated over time or priority dependent will not be accurately portrayed in the viewport as the viewport renders literally whatever is the current state of the viewport. The picture always evaluates all animation form the first frame to the specified frame you are rendering.

My guess in this case is a priority problem between the hair cache, the deformers and the spline generation of some sort. Does it break or lag at all when scrubbing and or tumbling around the scene. If you move something and then undo does it refresh properly immediately or does something appear not to update until you then force a refresh or move?
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 02-16-2013, 11:04 AM   #4
Visualtricks
PRO
 
Visualtricks's Avatar
portfolio
Massimiliano Mati
Graphic Designer
Wayin srl
Pistoia, Italy
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 151
Hi,
I can't reproduce the error, it's working fine here (even without caching the cloth). See the file: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8062081/su...splines.c4d.zip
Hope this helps !

cheers
__________________
www.visualtricks.it - www.c4dzone.com
 
Old 02-18-2013, 06:49 PM   #5
Navstar
Expert
 
Navstar's Avatar
N Parker
Mograph Dude
Los%2BAngeles, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,134
Here's my project:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B07...dit?usp=sharing

(Let me know if this link doesn't work. Never tried sharing Google Drive files before)
__________________
----end of line
 
Old 02-18-2013, 07:26 PM   #6
Visualtricks
PRO
 
Visualtricks's Avatar
portfolio
Massimiliano Mati
Graphic Designer
Wayin srl
Pistoia, Italy
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 151
Ok now I see...
I think you can't use Hypernurbs as reference surface for the Surface Deformer, I think it needs actual geometry, in this case the cloth.
Here's another test: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/8062081/su...pline_2.c4d.zip
__________________
www.visualtricks.it - www.c4dzone.com
 
Old 02-18-2013, 09:15 PM   #7
Navstar
Expert
 
Navstar's Avatar
N Parker
Mograph Dude
Los%2BAngeles, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Visualtricks
I think you can't use Hypernurbs as reference surface for the Surface Deformer, I think it needs actual geometry, in this case the cloth.


Aha! That must have been it. I noticed that that the splines didn't line up exactly to the HyperNURB'd cloth when I referenced the cloth directly. That's why I put the Hypernurbs in the Projection Deformer.

So I just need to run the cloth sim with a higher density mesh and avoid HN or Cloth NURBS you think?
__________________
----end of line
 
Old 02-18-2013, 09:15 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.