CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 02:48 PM   #1
LOPOLO
Veteran
 
LOPOLO's Avatar
Lopolo
freelancer
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 96
C4D R14 and Nuke 7

Hi. I said good bye to Adobe and purchased Nuke 7. Here is my question. How do you export c4d scenes? It looks like there is some problem with camera. Thanks for tips.
__________________
http://lopolo-blog.blogspot.cz
www.3d.cz
 
Old 06-20-2013, 02:54 PM   #2
mism
PRO
Mark Mathieson
3D Artist
GB
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 130
FBX, Alembic or Obj, depending on the scene and how they perform. I use SteadyChan for cameras, FBX can be funny sometimes.
 
Old 06-20-2013, 03:23 PM   #3
teleliq
Expert
 
teleliq's Avatar
portfolio
Simon Fiedler
Mainz, Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 238
Alembic worked for me.
__________________
www.simonfiedler.de
 
Old 06-20-2013, 03:32 PM   #4
LOPOLO
Veteran
 
LOPOLO's Avatar
Lopolo
freelancer
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 96
Thank you very much guys!
teleliqoes Alembic keep UVs in Nuke?
mism: Could you more specify when to use each format please?
__________________
http://lopolo-blog.blogspot.cz
www.3d.cz
 
Old 06-20-2013, 04:41 PM   #5
mism
PRO
Mark Mathieson
3D Artist
GB
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOPOLO
mism: Could you more specify when to use each format please?


I don't tend to go to and from Nuke and C4D enough to have a "go to" workflow. Meaning that I forget what I did last time, kick myself for not keeping better notes then try things 'til it works!

That said I used FBX on a recent project, the geo came from Nuke to C4D very well (the model builder in Nuke is great for getting placeholders from a 3D track into C4D). But the camera had random keyframes that were way out of position, so I used SteadyChan for the cameras.

Going the other way I used Alembic to get some animated type and camera out of C4D into Nuke where I was able to project onto it and add this to the C4D render. Alembic gives some decent options when importing but I seem to remember having playback issues, it not being as fast as FBX.

Its worth playing with FBX and Alembic, testing things like scale, playback, that nothing gets lost (camera focal length, sensor size etc). Watch out for frame rate, its easy to import something at the wrong frame rate and spend time scratching your head wondering why it doesn't fit.

It amazes me that C4D's Nuke export gets the camera wrong, was there no testing done?
 
Old 06-20-2013, 09:35 PM   #6
LOPOLO
Veteran
 
LOPOLO's Avatar
Lopolo
freelancer
Prague, Czech Republic
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 96
Thank you for sharing experience. Im going to try it and keep my eye on mentioned problematic behaviour. I have same problems with notes but at least, it is good for my old brain :-)

I expected smooth export from C4D as well ... :-(
__________________
http://lopolo-blog.blogspot.cz
www.3d.cz
 
Old 06-20-2013, 09:35 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.