CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Rendering
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2013, 12:43 AM   #1
Buzert
Frequenter
portfolio
Trick Ster
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 160
Fur Grass Spotty

I'm using maya's fur shader to create grass. I've started with the pre set grass. I'm having major problems with the colours. I know where the 2 colour sliders are but when I do a large area of grass it appears spotty, like yellow patches amongst the green. I've noticed it in tutorials too. I just want a consistent nice healthy green grass.

Anyone know what option/s control this?

This is exactly what it looks like;
http://www.lugher3d.com/images/tuto..._tutorial_4.jpg
 
Old 05-15-2013, 07:23 AM   #2
kiryha
Expert
 
kiryha's Avatar
portfolio
Kiryha Krysko
3D artist
Ukraine
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 684
Send a message via ICQ to kiryha
Take a look at details tab in FurDescription node. There is also tip and pase color settings(noise amplitude) wich can gives you rendomization.
__________________
3D animation blog
 
Old 05-16-2013, 11:45 PM   #3
egglybagelface
Maya Sloth
portfolio
eggly bagelface
Sydney, AU
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 562
Yeah you should keep all hue saturation and value randomize options turned off in all hair shaders, be it vray, arnold, mentalray default or puppet as it causes flickering problems when animated. If you want randomization it's best to do it with an actual 2d non-procedural texture map (tif or whatever).

@ Kiryha. I presume this is yours:
http://kiryha.blogspot.com.au/2010/...mental-ray.html

Instead of re-writing the question, this is a link to thread I started a little ago:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...p?f=7&t=1104367

Last edited by egglybagelface : 05-17-2013 at 01:17 AM.
 
Old 05-17-2013, 01:57 AM   #4
mercuito
MentalCore
 
mercuito's Avatar
portfolio
Corey Frew
Pipeline Supervisor
Oktober Animation
Auckland, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 415
Send a message via MSN to mercuito
Quote:
Originally Posted by egglybagelface
Yeah you should keep all hue saturation and value randomize options turned off in all hair shaders, be it vray, arnold, mentalray default or puppet as it causes flickering problems when animated. If you want randomization it's best to do it with an actual 2d non-procedural texture map (tif or whatever).


Sorry, but I must disagree with this. The randomization is fixed, based on the hair id's, which don't change between renders. There is nothing wrong with using these settings and I don't believe it can cause any flickering issues - I've used it in production many times.
__________________
www.core-cg.com
MentalCore - Shading and rendering pipeline for Maya/Mentalray
 
Old 05-18-2013, 03:30 AM   #5
egglybagelface
Maya Sloth
portfolio
eggly bagelface
Sydney, AU
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 562
Are you talking about the core hair & fur shader or all of them?
 
Old 05-18-2013, 03:30 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.