CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2013, 06:09 PM   #1
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
Frozen Color?

MAX2014

If I make a teapot and then freeze it... it shows as gray as expected. (with Show Frozen as Gray checked).

If I customize the Freeze color to be hot pink and then freeze the object... it still shows as gray, not hot pink.

Am I missing something? Is Nitrous not able to show other colors when freezing or something?

Thanks!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 05-30-2013, 08:59 PM   #2
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
Hmmm.

It seems that the freeze color is not being used until I restart MAX2014. Apply colors does nothing. This is on two different systems, one XPx64 and one Win7.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 05-30-2013, 09:22 PM   #3
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
And frozen splines no longer use the Show Frozen in Gray function?

The attached image shows two objects which are both frozen. The teapot is showing with the proper frozen color. The spline is showing it's native color even though it is set to Show Frozen in Gray and is frozen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg splines_not_freezing.jpg (21.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 05-31-2013, 02:24 AM   #4
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,000
Yeah I can confirm that splines (ie Line) do not change color to the Frozen color when Frozen.

If you need to change it color for some reason or another you could just whip up a simple script to freeze the spline shapes and change the wireframe color to the frozen color.

Something like:

Code:
for o in objects where superClassOf o == shape do ( case o.isFrozen of ( true: (o.isFrozen = false;o.wireColor = (random black white)) false: (o.isFrozen = true;o.wireColor = red) ) )
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-31-2013, 12:54 PM   #5
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
Thanks for the confirmation John... and the script! Hopefully an update will be coming to fix some of these things in the future.

Thanks again.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 05-31-2013, 01:31 PM   #6
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,918
Probably best to post a bug to the official bug report to make sure they're aware of it (help menu>report a problem). Nitrous is a still a bit wonky with things like vertex colour too.
 
Old 05-31-2013, 02:00 PM   #7
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
I submitted it as a bug.

Thanks!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 06-04-2013, 10:07 PM   #8
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,000
Maybe the frozen line color issue is/will be fixed in an a future hotfix/service pack
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 06-05-2013, 02:39 PM   #9
Mike Truly
Expert
Mike Truly
Truly Media
Crested Butte, CO, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 983
I certainly hope do hope so!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
-----------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com
 
Old 06-05-2013, 02:39 PM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.