CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage > ICE: Interactive Creative Environment
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
kilgoretrout
Veteran
Matt Lewer
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Get neighbouring particles by state

Hi
Hope everyone is doing well,
So i am pretty new to ice (came from particle flow (1 core woes) and i am trying to get the particles to be attracted/repelled from other particles depending on what state they are in.
So particles in state 1 are attracted to particle in state 2 but stay away from particles in state 3 for example.
I have tried to use the get neighbouring particles by state but cant seem to plug it anywhere into the neighbouring particle force, am i completely missing something, should i be plugging it into something between the two?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
loving ice so far :-)
cheers
M
 
Old 10-29-2012, 10:07 PM   #2
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
Moving this to the ICE subforum, will try to get back to the question itself too if I have some time and inclination during the week
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 10-29-2012, 10:27 PM   #3
kilgoretrout
Veteran
Matt Lewer
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
ok cheers mate much appreciated.
 
Old 10-29-2012, 10:43 PM   #4
grahamef
Expert
Grahame Fuller
Tech Writer
Autodesk M&E
Canada
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 415
It looks like the Neighboring Particles Force simply wasn't designed with states in mind. If you are new-ish to ICE, then the simplest thing to do is edit the existing Neighboring Particles Force.

Inside Neighboring Particles Force, drag in Get Neighboring Particles by State. Plug in the Cutoff Distance from the PassThrough, and replace the Get Neighboring Particles connection from Number Points into Greater Than.

Plug the Points output from Get Neighboring Particles by State into the Source of a Get Data and get PointPosition. Use that to replace the connection from Get Neighboring Particles' Point Positions output into Subtract. Now you can get rid of the old Get Neighboring Particles.

Expose the State ID and exit the compound. Now you can copy and paste this, change the State ID, and plug them all into an Add Forces. If you want to reuse it in other scenes, change the name (e.g. to Neighboring Particles Force by State) and export.
 
Old 10-30-2012, 12:56 AM   #5
kilgoretrout
Veteran
Matt Lewer
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 30
Lovely, works a treat, thanks a lot for taking the time to help, been going a little crazy with it. cheers M
 
Old 10-30-2012, 12:56 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.