CGTalk > Main > General Discussion
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2014, 06:45 PM   #16
circusboy
Expert
Raonull Conover
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by harlyo
Kanga : thanks for the link its all i need for comparison

one more question : if i want to do smoke , fire , clouds , sparks , all types of these things using a plugin like chaosgroup phoenix FX can i import it into nuke and composite it with my scene and control it from there ! or does nuke have its own particle system that do all of that ? and if it does is it good enough to use it instead of using a plugin ?

Nope-those are all 3d simulation FX. You need to do those in the context of your 3d scene/software and render the result.
The comp programs work with the render output from the 3d program. You can use comp to tweak enhance the fx (add glow for example) but they cannot alter the fx/simulation directly. You have to go back to 3d for that.

The native 'comp particle plugins' are 'good enough' for some people. But they are limited compared to the 3d ones if photo real look and behaviour is the goal.
 
Old 09-02-2014, 07:56 PM   #17
harlyo
Frequenter
 
harlyo's Avatar
portfolio
Mamdouh Youssef
Cairo, Egypt
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by circusboy
Nope-those are all 3d simulation FX. You need to do those in the context of your 3d scene/software and render the result.
The comp programs work with the render output from the 3d program. You can use comp to tweak enhance the fx (add glow for example) but they cannot alter the fx/simulation directly. You have to go back to 3d for that.

The native 'comp particle plugins' are 'good enough' for some people. But they are limited compared to the 3d ones if photo real look and behaviour is the goal.


brief but great explanation thanks man .
 
Old 09-02-2014, 11:17 PM   #18
Zendorf
synapse farmer
portfolio
James Redmond
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by MauricioPC
You could always use Composite, since it's now free.

Not as robust, of course, but free.

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/gary...altime-playback

https://apps.exchange.autodesk.com/...posite_linux:en

Runs on Linux also.


Not sure that I would want to rely on any "free" product from Autodesk. If you want a truly free nodal compositor, keep an eye on Natron. It is early days, but depending on your needs, totally usable:

http://natron.inria.fr/
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.