CGTalk > WIP > WIP/Critique: 3D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2013, 03:45 PM   #1
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
Offshore Gas Module

Looking for tips on making this render awesome. I appreciate all critiques but would like to know how to make the exterior of the facility appear more believable.

Also, how to comp the light ray pass in? I tried add blend mode but the light is too strong and washes out the subject.

Thanks!



__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 05-17-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
Kev3D
Agent
 
Kev3D's Avatar
portfolio
Kevin Russell
3D Artist
Kevisual
London, GB
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,761
Send a message via MSN to Kev3D
It's looking really nice but the outside the warehouse is all blown out. It'd be nice to have just a little detail in there. With regards to the light rays, the 'add' mode is the correct one but you might need to play with the opacity a bit.
__________________
3D Reel, Photography and Blog
 
Old 05-17-2013, 04:55 PM   #3
em3
day dreamer
 
em3's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Tyner
3D Artist
Polyform Media
Denver, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Send a message via Yahoo to em3
Thank you. To keep the relatively low exposure on the inside but bring out some detail on the outside will I need to mask out the windows and do all of that in post? Is there a way do that inside of the scene with background/plates maybe? Also, I think the light ray will need to be re-rendered. to dial it back a little. Either that or move the light source so that the rays don't interfere with the subject.
__________________
www.davetyner.com
 
Old 05-17-2013, 07:24 PM   #4
catche
Expert
portfolio
Jan Petter Grashei
Sandnes, Norway
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 800
like Kev3D said you can just turn the opacity down on the volume light layer in photoshop and it's fine, no need to rerender =)

also, add blending mode? isn't that wrong since volume light is basically a "fog"? Unless I'm completely wrong I think screen or using the volume light pass as a mask on a solid color layer is a bit more correct, but as I said this might not be true.
 
Old 05-18-2013, 07:38 AM   #5
MisterS
seeking knowledge
 
MisterS's Avatar
portfolio
David Spittle
Civil Design Drafter
Brisbane, Australia
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 813
Great work - I think though it looks like the warehouse is not surrounded by anything? Would there be shadows cast through any of the windows by neighbouring buildings? Otherwise simulating some clouds in the sky could break the consistent lighting up a bit.

Assuming it's lit by a daylight system - Stick a massive plane primitive in front of the sun with a noise map mapped to it's opacity slot. Clamp the noise map a little.
 
Old 05-18-2013, 07:38 AM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.