CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2013, 12:03 AM   #1
LukeLetellier
Work in Progress
 
LukeLetellier's Avatar
portfolio
Luke Letellier
Portland, Maine, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 860
Hay

Hello all,

I'm currently involved in an animation that requires me to create some hay - not hay bales or a hay field, but hay moving through a machine (a baler), which requires hair dynamics. I thought this would be as simple as using hair with a cloner, but now I'm discovering that there are some issues.

The following scene contains one of two methods I was able to discover that allowed for hair to exist with a cloner - placing the cloner inside a connect object, then growing hair on the connect. However, hair dynamics won't work with this technique as long as the cloned objects are in motion; in this scene, I'm using the cloner's "rate" parameter to add motion.

Scene File:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/sze2981sv.../ClonedHair.zip

The second technique required the hair object to be inside the cloner, which would easily result in several thousand hair objects in the scene - which I sense would be problematic.

Any thoughts on how else I could accomplish this?

Thanks,
Luke
 
Old 10-22-2013, 10:03 PM   #2
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,615
Not sure why it has to be hair ... popping a cylinder into a MG cloner
with random effector lets you dial up the numbers and animating the helix
will get all those elements to cyclone into a compact mass.

Here's some frame captures ... if it helps
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 10-22-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
LukeLetellier
Work in Progress
 
LukeLetellier's Avatar
portfolio
Luke Letellier
Portland, Maine, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 860
I had always figured that hair was going to be faster than a cloner in this regard, but this looks great for what I need to it to do. Thanks!
 
Old 10-23-2013, 01:48 AM   #4
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting TD
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,350
Use splines instead of a hair object. You can use a hair shader on splines
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 10-23-2013, 01:48 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.