CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 11:36 PM   #16
vsPiotr
The
portfolio
Piotr Stopniak
3D Artist
Toby And Pete
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 180
this link was posted recently on the pixar forum:
http://graphics.pixar.com/library/R...ching/paper.pdf

A bit of info on some of the new tech under the hood.
 
Old 10-07-2012, 01:59 AM   #17
earlyworm
car unenthusiast
 
earlyworm's Avatar
Will Earl
craftsperson
Grizzly Country, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,685
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyBug
I didn't use it for a while and I made a mistake, I was thinking about Renderman for Maya instead of Renderman Studio.
Last time I checked it was quite limited in comparison to PRMan, but either way I wont be looking back now with Arnold.


I think this confusion in what the different packages do is the idea behind Pixar wrapping it's various Renderman-For-Maya (RfM) packages into one package.

In Pixar's product line, Pro Server comes with a number of executables in order to render (prman), process textures (txmake) and compile shaders (shader) - plus a bunch of other commands for doing other various things, but those three are the main ones.

It contains no user-interface tools or plugins to integrate with any other piece of 3D software, if you want to use it with Maya (or any other 3d application) you either need something which exports RIB files (Liquid, AnimalMan or RfM-Pro) or write your own tool to export RIB. Most large studios have chosen in the past to write their own Maya-to-Renderman tools, although I expect that will change to Katana over the next few years.

In terms of the renderer however, there has never been a difference between the entry-level Renderman For Maya and the studio-level ProServer. They both use the same renderer, it's just what features you could use was limited by how the 3d application interfaced with the renderer.

RfM connected to the renderer directly via the Maya plugin - so you could only render locally, while RfM-Pro connected to the renderer via RIB files - which allowed you to render locally or to a farm.

The features that you couldn't use in previous versions of RfM however are fairly advanced features which aren't really for lighting artists and are more for technical directors, shader writers or coders.
 
Old 10-07-2012, 08:00 PM   #18
BillB
Work In Progress
 
BillB's Avatar
portfolio
Bill Boyce
Animation Director
Huhu Studios
Warkworth, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustique
I'd buy into it, but I'd have to see and testdrive first.

Well, there's this :
"A student bundle consisting of both RenderMan Studio 4.0 and RenderMan Pro Server 17.0 is available for $200"
Probably the closest thing you'll find to a trial version.
__________________
www.huhustudios.com
hairDensity = 1/currentAge
 
Old 10-07-2012, 10:28 PM   #19
doctorbob
Guy who does stuff
Chris Gardner
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillB
Well, there's this :
"A student bundle consisting of both RenderMan Studio 4.0 and RenderMan Pro Server 17.0 is available for $200"
Probably the closest thing you'll find to a trial version.


The Pixar people are very good about giving you a trial lic (assuming you're a studio and a serious sales proposition). They helped us immensely when we were trialling prman - unfortunately for them we decided to go with Arnold, but that's neither here nor there. Get in touch with a local reseller or Pixar directly.

cheers,
chrisg
 
Old 10-07-2012, 10:52 PM   #20
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillB
Well, there's this :
"A student bundle consisting of both RenderMan Studio 4.0 and RenderMan Pro Server 17.0 is available for $200"
Probably the closest thing you'll find to a trial version.


I'm not a student and no studio either, doing freelance work on project basis for ad agencies and other studios. RM is not suited for the type of work I do, but rather something I'd love to try for personal shortfilm projects. Oh well, maybe I should contact solidangle and ask if they will sell single nodelocked Arnold licences soon. That's where the puck seems heading to.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 10-08-2012, 07:13 PM   #21
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,530
I keep hearing about Arnold and I'm always mystified by that simple site! Renderman has hooks into most major 3d apps, including my favorite Cinema 4d. I'd love to see Arnold have a compatible plug for C4D so I could compare.
 
Old 10-13-2012, 08:47 PM   #22
Array
Make way for the bad guy.
 
Array's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Mr. Array
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venkman
I keep hearing about Arnold and I'm always mystified by that simple site! Renderman has hooks into most major 3d apps, including my favorite Cinema 4d. I'd love to see Arnold have a compatible plug for C4D so I could compare.


That would be about as big of an apples and oranges comparison that one could make, when it comes to renderers. What is it, specifically, that you would want to test out?
 
Old 10-13-2012, 09:14 PM   #23
Array
Make way for the bad guy.
 
Array's Avatar
CGSociety Member
Mr. Array
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjoern
still behind the competition


In which regards?
 
Old 10-13-2012, 10:52 PM   #24
kmest
a super sayajin jedi!
 
kmest's Avatar
portfolio
Reza Farsad
VFX Artist, Look Dev
Polygon Pictures
Tokyo, Japan
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,720
Send a message via MSN to kmest Send a message via Yahoo to kmest
Ive used both Renderman and Arnold and will keep using them both on different projects.both are great in different kind of works.like indirect lighting/raytracing in Arnold is way faster and easier than anything i've seen, but when it comes to Displacements,DOF,Motion blur,volumes,particles and those kind of things, still nothing can compete with Rman. I'm not a pro RSL writer kind of user but still Rman gives me stuffs for little/fast/one-man-band projects that i haven't found in other engines.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/72603827[/url]
 
Old 10-13-2012, 10:52 PM   #25
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.