CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 09:03 PM   #16
Akitus
New Member
portfolio
Robert Cordas
Carrollton, US
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
After trying different cards and nvida and a radeon and both are showing the same issues I am inclined to think this is a software/settings issue. I can easily handle 5+ mill Faces in Blender so I am at a point where I am going to have to get a firepro card to really be able to use max (Sorry guys been main-lining AMD for years and wont give it up) Or I completely relearn how to model and use blender.
 
Old 12-22-2012, 04:25 PM   #17
vlad
Expert
 
vlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,148
I'm getting a workable 5-10fps on 15-20 mil scenes in Nitrous with the highest viewport settings and highest bitmaps display settings, in shaded mode (a bit less in realistic) on a 3gb 580gtx. I have no idea where your problem lies, but I'm not so sure a firepro would solve it...
 
Old 12-22-2012, 04:29 PM   #18
tswalk
Expert
 
tswalk's Avatar
portfolio
Troy Walker
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akitus
...I am inclined to think this is a software/settings issue.


i would have to agree, and unfortunately don't have any suggestions for that...

if the AMD forum supporters don't have suggestions, you can always try this part of the Area forums:

http://area.autodesk.com/forum/auto...-hardware---os/
__________________
-- LinkedIn Profile --
-- Blog --
-- Portfolio --
 
Old 12-22-2012, 05:29 PM   #19
Akitus
New Member
portfolio
Robert Cordas
Carrollton, US
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
FirePro is the only AMD cards certified to be used by Autodesk
 
Old 12-23-2012, 03:06 PM   #20
vlad
Expert
 
vlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,148
"Certified by AD" doesnt mean all that much in the "certified" real world By all accounts, pro cards are not worth the investment at all when coupled with Max. Another thing is ram, do you have 4gb in total or 4 x 4gb? Maybe you could send over you file?
 
Old 12-23-2012, 08:33 PM   #21
Akitus
New Member
portfolio
Robert Cordas
Carrollton, US
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
I have a total of 16GB of ram not sure why the report came out that way.
 
Old 12-23-2012, 11:47 PM   #22
vlad
Expert
 
vlad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,148
Well, it shouldnt be for lack of ram then. I experience this sluggishness when I had a scene with around 40 different particle systems set up as fountains. As soon as I scrubbed the time slider, the fps dropped to unusable levels. But I frequently edit trees with a million polys and up to workable levels.

Last edited by vlad : 12-23-2012 at 11:52 PM.
 
Old 12-24-2012, 01:04 AM   #23
Akitus
New Member
portfolio
Robert Cordas
Carrollton, US
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13
Yeah vlad this is why I am so puzzled, Blender has no issues with any thing I am doing which is why I am disappointed that Max will not work on my system. I have no idea what to try next..

EDIT: Well I ran the AMD System monitor and the all I saw is one core get maxed for a second the Vram never exceeded 30% and the system RAM never exceeded 18% so it there anything anyone can think of that could cause Max to behave so badly.

Last edited by Akitus : 12-25-2012 at 06:38 PM.
 
Old 12-24-2012, 01:04 AM   #24
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.