CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 02:18 PM   #1
phleX
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
only uniform scaling for area lights in maya 2013?

Hi,

I just encountered the following problem:
Maya 2013 doesnīt let me scale an area light in only one direction. I can scale only uniformly.

Iīm surprised because Iīve been using 2013 for quite a while now and never experienced this before.
So either I never had to scale an area light non-uniformly since using 2013 or itīs due to the fact that I just re-installed maya 2013 and itīs a problem with the installation.
Or something else I canīt think of at the moment.

Can anyone help me out here?

edit:

I just noticed itīs possible with the universal manipulator tool but not with the scale tool.
Is that the way itīs supposed to be now, is it a bug or is it a problem with my installation?

Last edited by phleX : 09-08-2013 at 02:22 PM.
 
Old 09-08-2013, 04:14 PM   #2
Panupat
Expert
 
Panupat's Avatar
portfolio
Panupat Chong
Thailand
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,942
Did you accidentally change any of the tools settings? Take a look at the scale axis setting in your scale tool?
 
Old 09-08-2013, 05:26 PM   #3
phleX
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
no, I tried scaling a cube and was able to scale every axis independently. Happens just with the area light (and other lights, too, but thereīs no point in non-uniform-scaling a point light anyway).
 
Old 09-09-2013, 01:49 AM   #4
VanDerGoes
Hardgainer
 
VanDerGoes's Avatar
portfolio
Paolo Mazzoccato
Fisheye Studio
Italy
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 559
Make sure your scale tool is set to "local" and not to some custom axis.
__________________
 
Old 09-09-2013, 08:09 PM   #5
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
I had this happen too. Any setting but Object or if you have Discrete Scale on will stick you in uniform scale. Makes sense. Because you need to be on the rotation axis which is what Object gives you. Discrete scale I assume has to be uniform.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 09-10-2013, 11:40 AM   #6
phleX
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Perfect!
This works.
Thanks a lot guys!
 
Old 09-10-2013, 11:40 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright Đ2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.