CGTalk > Main > News
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 11:10 PM   #1
DarthWayne
I need more caffine
 
DarthWayne's Avatar
portfolio
Wayne Robson
Autodesk Master
DashDotSlash
Durham, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 450
Wayne's Free Zbrush Hair to Spline 3dmax plugin

Wayne's Free Zbrush Hair to Spline 3dmax plugin

LINK


This is as special thanks to zb users for being considerate about the recent free mudbox videos. Knocked it in an hour tonight ....available at link given. It works fast and in a single click..and its free.

Wayne...
__________________


Home Page - Dash Dot Slash
 
Old 01-29-2012, 12:20 AM   #2
grrinc
Expert
 
grrinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,343
Shit Wayne, you cant stop giving.

I bet that other guy is a bit pissed seeing as he is charging for it. Couldn't knock out one for C4D could you?
__________________
Posted by Proxy
 
Old 01-29-2012, 01:53 AM   #3
DarthWayne
I need more caffine
 
DarthWayne's Avatar
portfolio
Wayne Robson
Autodesk Master
DashDotSlash
Durham, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by grrinc
Shit Wayne, you cant stop giving.

I bet that other guy is a bit pissed seeing as he is charging for it. Couldn't knock out one for C4D could you?


Doubtful as my knowledge of coding in C4d is about the same as my ancient greek...very very limited lol. I wasn't aware anyone was until I read your comment.... still though it was only an hours worth of dicking around to make this, so not exactly worth charging for in my opinion. (I'd hinted at making this back when they 1st mentioned hair in zb....so should still be on my twitter stream along with how I was going to do it....although you'd have to wade through alot of crap of mine to find it probably lol.)


Wayne...
__________________


Home Page - Dash Dot Slash
 
Old 01-29-2012, 02:54 AM   #4
3dtutorial
Lord of the posts
Company Director
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 677
Wayne,

Awesome, thanks very much for the tool... much appreciated!

Cheers,

Joe
__________________
Joseph Richard Saltzman
Director

Certified Softimage Instructor
Ask about our 3D Scanning Services!

Meshmasters.com

 
Old 01-29-2012, 06:05 AM   #5
SpinQuad
New Member
portfolio
E. S. Am
United States
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
This is very generous of you. Thank you.
 
Old 01-29-2012, 11:17 AM   #6
Airflow
(212) 555-2368
 
Airflow's Avatar
portfolio
Robert Angol
Head Of 3D
Orchard Post
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,644
Send a message via MSN to Airflow Send a message via Yahoo to Airflow
Thanks as always mate.
__________________
*(GOZER)-During the third reconciliation of the last of the Meketrex Supplicants, it chose the form of a giant SLOAR...


MY HMC
 
Old 01-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #7
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,081
Very generous of you, many thanks!
Any chance you could wip up a Maya version?

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 01-29-2012, 04:08 PM   #8
AJ
Totoro
 
AJ's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Alex Jefferies
Director
MDI Digital Ltd
Norwich, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 4,961
Hi Wayne,

Thanks for this - it prompted me to finally give fibre mesh a go! Unfortunately the script has a couple of problems, mainly that it doesn't generate the splines in the centre of the geometry (not a big deal) and it leaves an extra edge at the base of each hair.

Not wanting to look a gift horse in the mouth, I've had a crack at my own version which should speed things up a little & hopefully address the above two little niggles.

I'm by no means a coder & it didn't take me long so this is bound to be improved by someone who actually knows what they're doing
Attached Files
File Type: zip AJ_FibreMesh.zip (780 Bytes, 96 views)
__________________
SKETCHBOOK
MDI
moonjam.com

Last edited by AJ : 01-29-2012 at 04:10 PM.
 
Old 01-30-2012, 12:28 AM   #9
WyattHarris
Daddy x 4
 
WyattHarris's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Wyatt Harris
WyattHarris.com
Baton Rouge, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5,760
Wayne, you alright.
__________________
HMC: Model Collection
WIP: Harris Nut House
WIP: WarCraft Troll
wyattharris.com Dig it!
 
Old 01-30-2012, 11:10 PM   #10
DaddyMack
c r a z y . . .
 
DaddyMack's Avatar
portfolio
Rob Mack
Resident geek
Brainchild Digital
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,110
Send a message via MSN to DaddyMack Send a message via Yahoo to DaddyMack
much good karma! Humble thanks (again)
__________________
Those who know it can't be done should stop interrupting those who are doing it

toe2toe

my 3d prints

 
Old 01-31-2012, 09:43 AM   #11
RabbitHole
New Member
portfolio
Not sure I want to say
Hot Knife
Nottingham, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
People may want to trim down the amount of Splines as the fibermesh can come through with a lot of detail - so this quicky will halve the amount.

(You should be able to change the by -2 to -3, -4 etc to take away a third or quarter.)


Code:
( clearlistener() fn deleteSplines sp = ( num = numsplines sp for i = num to 1 by -2 do ( deletespline sp i ) updateshape sp ) deleteSplines $ )
 
Old 02-01-2012, 02:04 AM   #12
trashtalk
Lord of the posts
Julian Howard
Saint Louis, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 519
Wink

Mr. Wayne,

Hola.


Just seconding the previous gentleman's inquiry (request) about a version for C4d and Maya.
Are you down for a similar hair to spline script for those apps? Would be more advantageous than me having to get 3ds Max just for that.


Very curious.

Thx

Last edited by trashtalk : 02-01-2012 at 02:04 AM. Reason: forgot something
 
Old 02-01-2012, 10:53 AM   #13
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,081
For a Maya version in Python-format check here: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...786#post7231786

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 09-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #14
wannabeArtist
3d n00b
portfolio
V
Finland
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 279
Thanks for the script!

Unfortunately I'm getting the following error:

" MAXScript MacroScript Error Exception: -- Unknown property: "setRingShift" in $selection <<
"

Any idea why? I'm running Max 2011 x64 and I just updated with all the SPs and everything, but it still fails
__________________
My day job: Studio Edgeloop
 
Old 09-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #15
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.