CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
xez
New Member
portfolio
Ronny
Tromsø, Norway
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Modelling, use of bridge tool

Hey
Im trying to create a 3D logo created with a cylinder and a tube.
I want to bridge two square borders from the cylinder to the tube, but I get problems cause the cylinder got more sides than the tube.
This get really messy when I apply meshsmooth modifier, since the bridge tool draws lines from the tube's middle vertexs to the cylinder vertext top level.

Do I need to add more vertexes on the tube's square border?


 
Old 01-08-2013, 01:27 PM   #2
entropymachine
PRO
 
entropymachine's Avatar
portfolio
Cristiano Matos
Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 153
I'd add 3 edge loops on the section of the tube (not just verts on the border) so it matches the nr. or verts that you're trying to bridge to in top and bottom faces of the cylinder section in a clean line/edge flow
 
Old 01-08-2013, 01:52 PM   #3
scrimski
antieverything
portfolio
J. Schreyer
head->wall
ARRI Berlin
Berlin, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 7,983
Get rid of the edges on the cylinder section. You dont need them.
 
Old 01-09-2013, 04:04 PM   #4
NikLG
Freestyler
 
NikLG's Avatar
portfolio
Nik Love-Gittins
Freelance artist
Anywhere
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
The number of edges / verts needs to be the same to bridge from one set to another.
Either remove those edges from the central cylinder, as suggested previously, or just extrude the faces that you want to bridge and snap and weld the verts to the desired location. You'll either need to weld the verts to one position ( the extra ones from the cylinder face extrusion ) or add the extra edges to the external cylinder.
It may get a bit messy when you smooth it though....
 
Old 01-10-2013, 07:22 PM   #5
Dillster
Always Learning
 
Dillster's Avatar
portfolio
Dylan Saunders
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrimski
Get rid of the edges on the cylinder section. You dont need them.


I agree. That will be the easiest way to do it. You can always subdivide the whole lot later on if you really need the extra geometry.
__________________
I like to learn.
 
Old 01-10-2013, 07:22 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.