CGTalk > Techniques > Lighting and Shaders
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
Fess
tapping his potential
 
Fess's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Mohan
Animation/VFX/Lighting
Digital Domain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 664
Question Linear Workflow: Maya MR to After Effects

Hello friends,

Quick question about outputting 16bit and/or 32bit Linear TIFS, EXR, HDR.
  • Upon bringing the images into After Effects, I simply change the Project Settings>Depth to 32 bits (16bit if files are as such)
  • "alt"+"ctrl"+"g">Interpret footage>Color Management>"Interpret As Linear Light" set to OFF
  • Create a Adjustment layer>Filter>Exposure>Gamma set to 2.2
This brings me back to the sRGB embedded color shift that I used to Light the scene in Mental Ray.

I concerned if this is the "CORRCT" workflow to apply to the passes in After Effects?
Is there other way to achieve this?

Thank U!
~Fess
__________________
-Life is a balancing, make it work, give each significance equal share, keep it in perspective/moderation

Last edited by Fess : 03-23-2013 at 07:25 PM.
 
Old 03-25-2013, 04:23 PM   #2
jtheninja
Doesn't Have a Title
portfolio
Jason Clarke
Generalist-type person
Portland, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fess
Hello friends,

Quick question about outputting 16bit and/or 32bit Linear TIFS, EXR, HDR.
  • Upon bringing the images into After Effects, I simply change the Project Settings>Depth to 32 bits (16bit if files are as such)
  • "alt"+"ctrl"+"g">Interpret footage>Color Management>"Interpret As Linear Light" set to OFF
  • Create a Adjustment layer>Filter>Exposure>Gamma set to 2.2
This brings me back to the sRGB embedded color shift that I used to Light the scene in Mental Ray.

I concerned if this is the "CORRCT" workflow to apply to the passes in After Effects?
Is there other way to achieve this?

Thank U!
~Fess


"Interpret as Linear Light" has a fairly handy "On for 32bit" option. Use that and you should be good to go. Your last two steps are just canceling each other out.
 
Old 03-26-2013, 01:27 AM   #3
Fess
tapping his potential
 
Fess's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Mohan
Animation/VFX/Lighting
Digital Domain
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtheninja
"Interpret as Linear Light" has a fairly handy "On for 32bit" option. Use that and you should be good to go. Your last two steps are just canceling each other out.


Thaks for that J.
__________________
-Life is a balancing, make it work, give each significance equal share, keep it in perspective/moderation
 
Old 03-26-2013, 01:27 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.