CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > Adobe After Effects
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 03:35 PM   #1
New Member
littleball's Avatar
Paolo R
3D modeler / Compositor
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 27
Send a message via MSN to littleball
Question Particular trails through the clouds

Hello everyone ...
I would like to ask you for help, I have a problem with Trapcode Particular.
I have created clouds of particles with multiple layers (one layer with a cloud, one layer with another cloud, etc etc.) and then a trail of particles driven by a light.
I animated the light from behind the clouds passes through the clouds.
I noticed that when the particles of the trail behind the clouds, are not hidden by clouds.
I would make sure that the trail passes through the clouds, how can I do?

I tried:
- Layer clouds
- Layer trail
the trail is hidden by clouds, but it remains hidden, even if the light through the clouds.

- Layer trail
- Layer clouds
the trail is always in front of the clouds, even if the light starts from behind the clouds.

Thanks in advance to all


sorry for my english

(particular version 2.1.2)
Old 03-11-2013, 07:03 PM   #2
the great saiyaman
Motion Graphics Artist
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 398
After Effects doesn't operate in 3D space as a program like maya or C4D would. Ae uses its depth based on layers. So if you have Layer A and Layer B, Layer A is 100 pixels past layer B but Layer A is in the top of the layer order, Layer A will appear over Layer B regardless of it is farther back in space or not.

You could try a couple things, one would be to use adjustment layers. For some reason, adjustment layers (with no effects) will try to correct the issue. The second option maybe be to precompose your cloud layers and sequence them with the light streak.

AE 3D space operates like flat layers in 3D space and not true 3D space. Without seeing the project, I am not sure what you are trying to do is really possible, just depends how many cloud layers you have. Does that help?
Old 03-11-2013, 07:03 PM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.