CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk MotionBuilder
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 11:44 PM   #1
Scamer17
New Member
portfolio
Sara
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
bvh export from MB, not exporting scale

I've scaled the hips, clavicles and forearms individually on my skeleton in MB and exported it as a bvh. All animations come through but I'm losing the scaling. Is it even possible to export scale into bvh format? I've tried setting scale keys but no luck...
Thanks,
S~
 
Old 07-02-2013, 09:54 PM   #2
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
That is an interesting question and I am going to guess that no, bvh does not record scale. Only positions and rotations, though I could be wrong.

However, if scaling is what you want, I think you'd want to do that at other places in the pipeline and not on export to bvh. Or perhaps there is another format you can use instead like fbx.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 07-02-2013, 10:14 PM   #3
Scamer17
New Member
portfolio
Sara
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks! Yes the scaling did end up coming through but it was interpreted as joint translation (as you said), so the scale didn't show any values. I agree that it should be dealt with earlier in the pipe, but I had to try this to fulfill a client request! I'm at a Mocap studio so they're interested in having the pivots match where the actual actor's joints are to achieve the most 1:1 solve/animation.

S~
 
Old 07-04-2013, 04:25 AM   #4
cineartist
Student Of The Craft
 
cineartist's Avatar
portfolio
Richard Culver
Hayward, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 653
If I am not missing something, sounds like you have it solved then if it is giving you the translation in the .bvh file that is based on the scale you did. I was thinking you needed to actually have the scale animated.
__________________
Richard Culver
Protfolio Facebook WIP1 WIP2
 
Old 07-04-2013, 05:02 PM   #5
Scamer17
New Member
portfolio
Sara
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Yes it's solved, I didn't need to animate scale, just have it hold onto the joint locations. Thanks for the replies!

S~
 
Old 07-04-2013, 05:02 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.