CGTalk > Techniques > Texturing and Surfacing
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2013, 10:17 PM   #1
MtnFrost
New Member
portfolio
Frost
South Pasadena, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Polygons display as black

Hey all-

Something I don't understand - why do my polygons go black when I remove a color set from them? I would expect them to turn back to the generic grey shader which is assigned. Is there a connection I need to break that I don't know?

Thanks!
 
Old 07-16-2013, 03:36 PM   #2
moneytakea
Veteran
portfolio
USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 53
Depends on what your doing ? If your just adjusting the color in the diffuse slider it shouldn't go black. Now if you are adding a color through the input>file? and you delete the path by simply backspacing then yes there is a connection still lingering. This is a very simple fix, go to windows>hypershade> get it open and find your material your using, in your case Im guessing your using the default lambert, find it in the window and double click it. It should populate the lower right window and you will see basically a node driven view. From the node's you will see little lines with arrows, these are connections. You can select them and delete them from there or you can just right click and select "break connections".

Try that and let me know if it helps
 
Old 07-16-2013, 05:09 PM   #3
MtnFrost
New Member
portfolio
Frost
South Pasadena, USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Hi Money-

Yes, it's just a basic lambert shader, all set at default values. The geometry displays black. I have checked the shader in the hypershade and there are no links when I expand the shader both upstream and downstream. Except the link that assigns that shader to the geometry. And I've broken and reassigned that link to be certain.

What I think is the cause is something to do with having given a vertex bake set to the geo, then having deleted that set. But I can't find any residual link that might be left behind. But that's what would make the most sense to me. But I'm new to bake sets. And thank you for taking the time to respond!
 
Old 07-16-2013, 05:09 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.