CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Character Setup
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2013, 11:32 PM   #1
New Member
EverFire Studios
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 15
Paint Skin Weights Tool Not Working


I created a rig using the HumanIK system. I used Smooth Skin Bind and need to fix up the weights, but when I go to the Paint Skin Weights Tool, the brush comes up but the model doesnt change to the black mesh so I can alter the weights. Does anyone know why the tool wont work properly?
Old 05-21-2013, 05:29 AM   #2
Aspiring Artist
nfd77's Avatar
Nick DuPree
Chicago, USA
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 388
Switch weight type from skin weight to dq blend weight and back. Switching between these two modes fixes the problem.
Old 05-21-2013, 05:29 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,479
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
Thread Closed share thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Society of Digital Artists

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.