CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 01:36 AM   #16
LukeLetellier
Work in Progress
 
LukeLetellier's Avatar
portfolio
Luke Letellier
Portland, Maine, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horganovski
Displacement in the mesh caused by normal maps will interact with lighting, bump won't, for one thing.

Cheers,
Brian


Hmm. Never knew that.

Q: If bump doesn't interact with lighting, then why use it? Does it have no interaction at all, or just less interaction?
 
Old 04-29-2013, 06:24 AM   #17
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,282
Only Shading is taken into account with a bump map. Displacement also works with shadows and it gives correct contours. Displacement is basically the same as having modelled the geometry.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 05-01-2013, 05:39 PM   #18
sneather
Expert
Name
SoCal, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Srek
Only Shading is taken into account with a bump map. Displacement also works with shadows and it gives correct contours. Displacement is basically the same as having modelled the geometry.


To make sure I'm clear, are you talking about normal maps? You said "displacement" but isn't that a third option? Bump / Normal / SPD
 
Old 05-01-2013, 07:15 PM   #19
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneather
To make sure I'm clear, are you talking about normal maps? You said "displacement" but isn't that a third option? Bump / Normal / SPD

My post was related to the one before with the reference to displacement.
Bumpmap and Normalmap don't change the geometry of an object and are therefore only able to affect shading.
A Bumpmap will give you a "virtual" elevation of the surface along the normal of that surface.
A Normalmap is the same but directional so you can create much more detailed features, than the geometry actually has.
Displacement will either modify existing geometry based on the material settings or even create subdivisions at rendertime (SPD). Different to Bump and Normalmapping it allows for correct contours, shadows etc.
Technically they are very similar, you can use a normal or bump map with displacement, or vice versa.
For example sculpted objects most often don't use the fully subdivided geometry but a much lighter one plus a normal map baked from the original highest subdivision level sculpting.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 05-01-2013, 07:26 PM   #20
sneather
Expert
Name
SoCal, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Thanks for the clarification, Srek. Sorry, I misunderstood your initial reference.
I have been using bump maps for this whole time, but just the other day I experimented with generating some Normal maps. I must say, the results in Cinema are substantially improved over the standard bump maps I had been using in the same exact project.

I'm wondering. Would I be able to generate a usable normal map of an entire imported .OBJ model? Or will the poly tris and quads ruin the results, just like they do when I try and bake my AO maps. Which just kills me, by the way...
 
Old 05-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #21
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,872
Well, I thought I'd put together a quick image to illustrate. So I loaded a Noise into the bump channel of one material, and the same noise into the Normaliser Shader in the normal channel of another material. Put the two materials on two meshes. They look very similar in the viewport, but when I hit render the normal one has no effect, the mesh is completely smooth.

A bug with the normalizer shader that it doesn't work with noise ? I notice if I load in a checkerboard shader or somthing like that it does work.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 05-01-2013, 08:23 PM   #22
ScientiaViz
PRO
 
ScientiaViz's Avatar
portfolio
Arik Thuesen
USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 128
Works here with UV projection instead of Texture, Brian.
 
Old 05-01-2013, 08:55 PM   #23
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,667
Yes, it can't convert 3D shaders, needs to be 2D.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 05-01-2013, 10:30 PM   #24
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,872
Ah, thanks guys. Good to know.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 05-02-2013, 06:52 PM   #25
travismetcalf
Guy
 
travismetcalf's Avatar
portfolio
Travis Metcalf
Sparkworks Media
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 95
Just for the record, here is a comparison. On the left is a procedural noise bump map. On the right, the same map, set to UV space and run through the normalizer shader in the normal channel. Lighting is a sky object with custom HDRI map. GI enabled.



Great tip about the normalizer shader!
 
Old 05-02-2013, 10:20 PM   #26
sneather
Expert
Name
SoCal, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Wow. Subtle subject matter. But the difference is quite obvious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by travismetcalf
Just for the record, here is a comparison. On the left is a procedural noise bump map. On the right, the same map, set to UV space and run through the normalizer shader in the normal channel. Lighting is a sky object with custom HDRI map. GI enabled.



Great tip about the normalizer shader!
 
Old 05-02-2013, 10:27 PM   #27
sneather
Expert
Name
SoCal, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Oops. I just realized R13 doesn't have the normalizer shader. I guess yet another reason to consider the upgrade to R14...
 
Old 05-02-2013, 10:27 PM   #28
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,480
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.