CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 12:56 PM   #1
paulruk
PRO
portfolio
paul r
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 63
Maya 2012/13 causing system freeze with custom shaders

Hi All

I`ve recently upgraded from maya 2010 and am running into a problem with system freezes with the new maya interfaces in 2012/13.
When moving the camera around the system maya will stop responding , then a few seconds later the whole system freezes up requiring a soft reboot.
The scene is using custom game shaders, its ok with standard and vray shaders. But other people using the same shaders arnt having this issue.
I`ve downloaded the latest nvidia drivers (314.22) and havent had this issue on anything else ie photoshop, dp, games,etc only in the newer Maya interface.

My PC Ssecs are:
Intel Core i7-2600K
ASUS P8P67 PRO
16gb DDR3 SDRAM
Zotac GeForce GTX 465 1GB

Any ideas?? Thanks in advance
 
Old 04-12-2013, 11:28 AM   #2
paulruk
PRO
portfolio
paul r
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 63
Anyone?

Just as an update, went through my drivers and bios and reinstalled the latest versions but still
get the freezes.
 
Old 05-15-2013, 11:51 AM   #3
Partaboy
New Member
portfolio
Jani Partanen
Web Designer
Helsinki, Finland
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
If you have any other graphics related software running like desktop switchers, custom codecs and such, try disabling them if you haven't already.

Maybe it is worth trying to install clean windows to another hard drive or use some virtualization software to see if it is hardware or software related.
 
Old 05-19-2013, 11:08 AM   #4
paulruk
PRO
portfolio
paul r
london, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Partaboy
If you have any other graphics related software running like desktop switchers, custom codecs and such, try disabling them if you haven't already.

Maybe it is worth trying to install clean windows to another hard drive or use some virtualization software to see if it is hardware or software related.


Thanks, but i tried another windows install on another drive and that seemed to have the same problem albeit not as bad. I`ve decided to upgrade my motherboard to a new Z77 chipset. I`ve had a few issues with this one and so hopefully a new install will improve things.
I`ll update when it arrives.

Ta
 
Old 05-19-2013, 11:08 AM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.