CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 08:17 AM   #1
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Shadow under character

Hi, if I want to render out the shadow under a character seperately, what's the best approach? I have a quad the character is standing on, so I guess I'd make the charcater shadow casting and turn off renderable, but how do I get the shadow to render and not the quad?

I'd like to render a tga image sequence and add the shadow in AFX.
 
Old 08-24-2012, 07:06 PM   #2
TheOnlyAaron
Expert
 
TheOnlyAaron's Avatar
portfolio
Aaron Dabelow
Technical Director
MAKE
Minneapolis, United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 291
You can set your character to be renderable but not 'visible to camera' in the object properties. this will cast a shadow / gi / reflections etc... but not render the objects primary visibility. Great for splitting up passes
__________________
Debris Maker
Portfolio
Blog
 
Old 08-26-2012, 12:19 PM   #3
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Ok, thanks. If I'm rendering out as image sequences, does this give me the shadow as a seperate set of images? I'd like to just bring the shadow shape in as a layer.
 
Old 08-26-2012, 01:45 PM   #4
MGernot
Expert
 
MGernot's Avatar
portfolio
Gernot Melichar
Austria
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 997
Just use 'Render Elements' in the Render dialog.
__________________
Meli
 
Old 08-27-2012, 05:21 AM   #5
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
If I was to render the scene 'in-camera' so I have the background on a 2d plane and the character is 'floating' in front, I'd still need shadow to plant his feet. How hard is it to have a transparent plane and a shadow effect?
 
Old 08-27-2012, 06:02 AM   #6
JeffPatton
I can count to potato!
 
JeffPatton's Avatar
portfolio
Jeff Patton
Freelance Digital Artist
Freelance Artist
Lexington, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,895
Depending on which rendering application you're using it can be as simple as applying a matte/shadow material to the ground plane.
__________________
Jeff Patton
My Website
 
Old 08-27-2012, 07:10 AM   #7
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Ok thanks, I'll give that a go.
 
Old 09-06-2012, 12:27 PM   #8
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
I'm having some problems getting this shadow effect to work. I seem to be missing some options in the material browser, and the basic matte/shadow material doesn't seem to work. I've seen tutorials where they select matte/shadow-reflectionwith mental ray and the background image is dropped in, but 'browse from' new option is missing so I can't do that.

Does that look right?
 
Old 09-06-2012, 12:48 PM   #9
TheOnlyAaron
Expert
 
TheOnlyAaron's Avatar
portfolio
Aaron Dabelow
Technical Director
MAKE
Minneapolis, United States Minor Outlying Islands
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 291
Is mental ray currently set as your active render engine in the scene?
__________________
Debris Maker
Portfolio
Blog
 
Old 09-09-2012, 05:56 AM   #10
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Yes renderer set to mental ray in the render setup.
I am getting a mental ray error, 'not supported by translator, will render black' I just need to apply a matte shadow material to a quad so I get a shadow under the characters feet, but no luck so far.
 
Old 09-09-2012, 06:12 AM   #11
Camm
Frequenter
portfolio
Lloyd Chidgzey
3D artist
Perth, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
I'm not sure that error applies to the matte shadow material, but I still can't understand why I'm missing the map/browser option. Looks like a bug.
 
Old 09-09-2012, 06:12 AM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.