CGTalk > Software > Photoshop / Painter
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 08:38 AM   #16
hvanderwegen
Expert
 
hvanderwegen's Avatar
Herbert van der wegen
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 563
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRiTTeR

- 32bit curves in photoshop pls (is a must).
Adobe should be ashamed thats not in photoshop yet.

- More resize filters (lancsoz, sinc, catmul rom, box, triangle, mitchell-netravali).


I know your pain. And you know what? Both are supported in Photoline - I switched three months ago, and I am not looking back. Lancsoz 8 is available in PL, which works really well. And almost all filters, effects and adjustments layers are available in 8bit, 16bit and 32bit per channel mode (unlike PH), and, btw, the image mode (rgb,lab, cmyk, greyscale, monochrome) can be changed on a layer basis in PL! Photoline is, quite frankly, awesome for pure advanced image editing - I never understood why Adobe keeps adding in all the 3d or video editing fluff (why would you do this in PH if your 3d/video/motion fx app of choice can do it a hundred times better?)

Anyway, back on topic.

Richard, thanks for the plugins on your site - they also work flawlessly in Photoline 32bit.

As for filter ideas:
- a jpg compression fringe removal (especially in areas like skies and surrounding sharp edges on a smooth background)
- a filter that creates smooth line drawings out of relatively rough sketches. Would be great for hand-drawn on paper animation frames that are reasonably clean, but far from perfect. It would have to be able to 'fill in the blanks' automatically where lines are cut off intermittently.
 
Old 12-22-2012, 09:21 PM   #17
bupaje
Frequenter
portfolio
Burt Abreu
Digital Artist
Cypress, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 277
I created a simple 'brush generator' in Filter Forge and always thought it would be nice to have something like that in Photoshop to generate procedural shapes that might make good brushes. You can see "Storm Forge" and "Broken Edges" on my site here for samples of brushes created using the filter (though I further edited some in Photoshop to make more complex).

I'd also like to have the ability to group multiple brushes so I might have texture brushes rock 1, rock 2 and rock 3 and as I paint it would continuously swap between those three.
 
Old 12-22-2012, 09:21 PM   #18
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.