CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya > Maya Dynamics
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 07:22 PM   #1
merlino3d
Veteran
portfolio
Marco
3D Freelancer
Capital Federal, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 62
fluidTexture2d refresh

Hi, I've create a vanishing object using the fluidTexture2d mapped to the transparency of the object material and all works fine. I can achieve the effect and render it out in my Render View.
Now: when I try to use the Batch Render it's like it doesn't refresh the actual value of the map, witch stay always opaque.
I've cached the fluid.
Really can't understand why this problem, any help?
__________________
here's my blog, you'r welcome to visit and comment! :)
 
Old 10-06-2012, 12:01 AM   #2
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
What version of Maya are you using? I think that was a bug that was fixed. I know there was a problem with the outAlpha connection doing a proper pull on the data... you could try using outColor instead of outAlpha.
 
Old 10-07-2012, 03:28 AM   #3
merlino3d
Veteran
portfolio
Marco
3D Freelancer
Capital Federal, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 62
Hi Duncan,
right now i'm working with Maya 2011 x64 at work, but I can't say the exact release till Tuesday. Maybe will be necessary some kind of upgrade ... for now I've solved the situation using the NextDesign's script at this page
Tuesday I'll tell you witch version we are using.
Many thanks Duncan!
__________________
here's my blog, you'r welcome to visit and comment! :)
 
Old 10-10-2012, 01:48 PM   #4
merlino3d
Veteran
portfolio
Marco
3D Freelancer
Capital Federal, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 62
Yep: maya 2011 x64 and I can't see any hotfix or sp applied. (it should appear as program name in the pain windows, right?)
If so, and considering here we are all using the same version, it is a problem if I update the version with the last sp? We'll have compatibility problems?
__________________
here's my blog, you'r welcome to visit and comment! :)
 
Old 10-11-2012, 05:33 PM   #5
Duncan
Expert
 
Duncan's Avatar
Duncan Brinsmead
Principal Scientist
Autodesk
Canada
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,984
If this is your only problem I would not upgrade... I don't think the service pack would likely address this problem. Also I'm not positive the problem you seeing is the same as the bug I was talking about. I don't get the problem running Maya2012, but I've not tried 2011. Also it might be related to other things in your setup, so perhaps I'm doing something different than you are.

If you can create a very simple scene that shows the problem, post it somewhere and I'll have a look.

Duncan
 
Old 10-12-2012, 04:06 PM   #6
merlino3d
Veteran
portfolio
Marco
3D Freelancer
Capital Federal, Argentina
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 62
Hi Duncan, many thanks for the reply.
I've uploaded the scene here, I hope this works. There is the scene file done in maya 2011 x64, a render of the frame 24 saved from the render view (where my super effect is visible), and the 24 frames rendered from the batch render (all blacks and without alpha).

Thanks!

Marco.

EDIT: ok, actually it only happens when the connection it's the automatic one, witch connect the transparency out form the 2dFluidTexture to the transparency of the shader, if I connect outAlpha or some color it works well even in the Batch Render.
__________________
here's my blog, you'r welcome to visit and comment! :)

Last edited by merlino3d : 10-13-2012 at 02:02 PM.
 
Old 10-12-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.