CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
Phlok
Coffee Drinker
 
Phlok's Avatar
Flo K.
FX TD
Freelance
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 393
question on PFlow and FFD(Box) spaceWarp

Is it possible to affect my PFlow particles using a FFD(Box)?

I created a FFD(Box) Space Warp and Bound that to my PFlow particle system, but the FFD doesn't seem to affect the particles, at all. Do I have to do anything additional to make it work?

Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by" - Douglas Adams -
 
Old 02-05-2013, 01:54 PM   #2
d4rk3lf
Expert
 
d4rk3lf's Avatar
portfolio
Boban Krsmanovic
Nis, Serbia
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 609
I am not sure, but I don't think you can use FFD box with particle flow that way.

What you can do, is to make a mesher object, pick up your Pflow, and then place a Box FFD on that mesher object.
__________________
Now it's the time to be extreme!
Demoreel
website
 
Old 02-05-2013, 02:51 PM   #3
Phlok
Coffee Drinker
 
Phlok's Avatar
Flo K.
FX TD
Freelance
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 393
Ok, thank you. I don't intend to mesh my particles, as I just need them as emitters for a different simulation.

I remember a scene where somebody used a FFD on particles in Max, but that was ages ago and I cannot make out how that was done, anymore. Does anybody have an idea how that might have worked?
__________________
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by" - Douglas Adams -
 
Old 02-05-2013, 03:30 PM   #4
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
If you set the particles as invisible to camera (basically turn off everything but Renderable) you can create a Mesher (compound object).
This creates a mesh of the particle system that you can then modify with the FFD box or any other modifier. The particles still need to be in the scene, just not rendering though, so keep that in mind.

If you have Thinkbox's Frost you can do the same thing.
 
Old 02-05-2013, 03:50 PM   #5
Phlok
Coffee Drinker
 
Phlok's Avatar
Flo K.
FX TD
Freelance
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 393
Ok, I can create a mesh and then use and deform the mesh. But is there no way I can directly manipulate the particles directly using a FFD? I
__________________
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by" - Douglas Adams -
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:48 PM   #6
DanHibiki
Expert
 
DanHibiki's Avatar
portfolio
- -
Senior 3d Animator
Invivo communications
Richmond Hill, Canada
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,802
No. They are not modifiable geometry.
You need to either bake or mesh them first.

Edit: Can we see what the setup looks like? there might be ways to do what you want without resorting to modifiers.
 
Old 02-05-2013, 05:09 PM   #7
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phlok
Ok, I can create a mesh and then use and deform the mesh. But is there no way I can directly manipulate the particles directly using a FFD? I


No, PFlow cannot do that alone, but Krakatoa can.

You can bake the particles to PRT, load in a Krakatoa PRT Loader and deform that.
Then load the deformed particles back into PFlow using the Krakatoa PRT Birth and Update operators.
This works with the FREE Evaluation copy of Krakatoa.
http://www.thinkboxsoftware.com/kra...rming_Particles
You might have seen that at some point...

Here is some more related stuff:
http://www.thinkboxsoftware.com/kra...article-orient/
__________________
Bobo
 
Old 02-06-2013, 09:25 AM   #8
Phlok
Coffee Drinker
 
Phlok's Avatar
Flo K.
FX TD
Freelance
Cologne, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 393
Thank you for all your replies. After some additional R&D work, the company I currently work for decided purchasing a Krakatoa license was a good idea
__________________
"I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by" - Douglas Adams -
 
Old 02-12-2013, 06:29 AM   #9
maidmen
New Member
portfolio
vadim soboleff
kgb
volgograd, RU
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 26
Hi, Bobo!
whether you plan to make so PRT Loaders to interacts with space warps ( Wind, Vortex, etc...) ?
 
Old 02-12-2013, 07:18 AM   #10
Bobo
Krakatoa Guy
 
Bobo's Avatar
Borislav Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by maidmen
Hi, Bobo!
whether you plan to make so PRT Loaders to interacts with space warps ( Wind, Vortex, etc...) ?


Wait a few days!
__________________
Bobo
 
Old 02-12-2013, 07:18 AM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.