CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 02:35 AM   #1
dancgfx
Student
 
dancgfx's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Samson Joseph
Grad. Student
East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 278
Unhappy Maya to Headus UV layout - problem

Hi!

I exported a obj file from maya to uv layout. In uvlayout, the mesh doesn't seem right. Please have a look at the screenshot.

Hope someone can help me with this.

__________________
Portfolio: danvfx.wordpress.com
Skype: dancgfx

Last edited by dancgfx : 11-15-2012 at 06:31 AM.
 
Old 11-15-2012, 07:33 AM   #2
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,098
looks fine to me... waht is the problem...
do new uvs and all is good...
__________________
...
 
Old 11-15-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
DeadlyNightshade
Plz...
 
DeadlyNightshade's Avatar
portfolio
Martin Dahlin
Jr. Technical Artist
King
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 898
Looks like you have unmapped areas on your model (ie: they don't have any UV space allocated) or that your shells are entangled.

Like the above poster says: Do a new UV unwrap/layout and you should be fine.
__________________
Nightshade UV Editor (script for Maya) - Extends Maya's default UV Texture Editor with additional tools.
 
Old 11-15-2012, 02:44 PM   #4
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,845
One of the options when importing a model is to Edit the existing UVs or Create new ones from scratch. I'd usually choose the latter for a clean starting point.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-15-2012, 02:50 PM   #5
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
I think you're just seeing the highly-compressed UVs as red. if you hit the [ key, it will lay out the UV grid and relieve some of the UV compression/stretching. But UV Layout isn't an automatic good UV shell tool - you need to learn how to use it. If you want a good automatic UV tool, try ZBRush's UV Master
 
Old 11-16-2012, 02:48 PM   #6
dancgfx
Student
 
dancgfx's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Samson Joseph
Grad. Student
East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 278
Thanks everyone! I tried what Horganovski said, it worked fine. I should have switched the uv layout mode to "new" instead "edit"
__________________
Portfolio: danvfx.wordpress.com
Skype: dancgfx
 
Old 11-29-2012, 03:17 AM   #7
CyberGolem
PRO
 
CyberGolem's Avatar
portfolio
Chaz Sutherland
Filmmaker & Artist
Corona, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
While we have these open ...

Apologies for shirt-tailing this thread but it appears there are already some savvy people here and I'm using both these programs myself.

The problem is trying to locate any info about why the UVs in Maya [2013] are looking like Skittles when selected. In the past they used to be green. All the tutorials found online show them green as well. It appears to be some kind of soft select, but I don't know how to disable it.

Thanks much,
~CG
Attached Images
File Type: png UV_trouble.PNG (61.9 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by CyberGolem : 11-29-2012 at 03:40 AM.
 
Old 11-29-2012, 03:41 AM   #8
Horganovski
Freelance Animator/Rigger
 
Horganovski's Avatar
portfolio
Brian Horgan
Graphite9
Dublin, Ireland
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,845
You have soft selection enabled, press 'B' to toggle it off again.

Someone here (can't remember off the top of my head) has 'try pressing the B key' in their signature as this catches people out all the time

Cheers,
Brian
 
Old 11-29-2012, 03:41 AM   #9
dancgfx
Student
 
dancgfx's Avatar
portfolio
Daniel Samson Joseph
Grad. Student
East Tennessee State University
Johnson City, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 278
I think the soft select mode is on. Try pressing the B key
__________________
Portfolio: danvfx.wordpress.com
Skype: dancgfx
 
Old 11-29-2012, 03:42 AM   #10
CyberGolem
PRO
 
CyberGolem's Avatar
portfolio
Chaz Sutherland
Filmmaker & Artist
Corona, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 101
Problem solved

Looks like it was soft select. I simply disabled it. Didn't know about the 'B' key, thanks dancgfx & Horganovski.



~CG
 
Old 11-29-2012, 03:42 AM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.