CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > The Foundry Nuke
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 09:49 PM   #1
welou
New Member
portfolio
louis
paris, France
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
VolumeRays: how to do when my matte is offscreen?

Hello!

I have a basic question, I use volumerays for a light, I have a matte ID of my light that I connect to the volumerays with a shuffle, everything works well. But my camera is moving and at some point the light (and the matte ID) goes offscreen. Then my volumerays are gone.
Do you have a solution? I'm sure it's not that hard but I can't find a way to do it.
My matte is in the EXR of my main output.

Thank you very much for reading and maybe for your help.
 
Old 01-28-2013, 11:41 PM   #2
welou
New Member
portfolio
louis
paris, France
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Should I forget my matte (alpha) and animate a rotomask?
 
Old 01-29-2013, 01:52 PM   #3
julsVFX
Veteran
 
julsVFX's Avatar
portfolio
Julius I.
Double Negative
London, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
you can render your matte id with overscan, so the information in it is still preserved even if it goes offscreen.
__________________

 
Old 01-29-2013, 02:49 PM   #4
welou
New Member
portfolio
louis
paris, France
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Thank you! I'm on 3ds Max, i think i've seen a script like that but it means i have to rerender the frames again and on max you cannot render a matte only, you have to render the whole thing. Of course I could do a material overide to avoid rendering with textures.
Can you tell me a little more about the processus in nuke when I rendered with overscan?

Thank you so much!
 
Old 01-30-2013, 05:39 PM   #5
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
Depending on the shot, it may be faster to just add a framehold on the frame right before the MatteID goes offscreen, and just animate a transform node to continue it's motion. Depending on what the motion is, it may not be noticeable and would be faster than a re-render.
 
Old 01-30-2013, 05:39 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.