CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
R14: Live selection radius MMB

Hi all,

Is there a way to unbind MMB to the radius of the live selection tool? I use MMB to switch views and pan and I'm constantly resizing the live selection tool when quick switching views. I can't find it in Customize commands...

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 09-13-2012, 06:54 PM   #2
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting TD
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,350
surprised by the issue i don't even experience that with a tablet, so I can't imagine how fast your moving your mouse while middle clicking to switch views.

that said I believe this is sadly a hardcoded function not something you can customize, but if there's an exception to that it might be R14 since now there's new ways of defining radius for sculpting maybe there's control for that radius now too? don't believe so but one could hope.
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 09-13-2012, 07:42 PM   #3
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Thanks Kai, this is with a large Intuos, when I say MMB, I have it bound to one of my pen buttons and I'm usually flicking very fast between multiple viewports and then to a single one back out and so on. It's not so much the speed though, it's keeping my hand 100% still when tapping the MMB.

Guess I'll just have to get used to using the F-keys again. Breaking my own hardcoded habits has been a bit of a pita since R13, it took a while to get up to speed again. I'll reevaluate my workflow see if I can adapt back to F-keys...

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 09-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Per-Anders
helper bunny
 
Per-Anders's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Per-Anders Edwards
Developer
The Third Party
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 12,712
You can reassign the Resize Brush hotkey from the command manager, when unassigned it will default to the MMB.
__________________
The Third Party | Homepage | My Reel
"You need to know what you're doing before you start, and to start because you need what you're doing."
 
Old 09-13-2012, 08:37 PM   #5
brasco
Polygone
 
brasco's Avatar
portfolio
Jon Bosley
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,731
Hi Per, brilliant, Ctrl+MMB it is
Just out of curiosity, this doesn't seem to behave like other commands, is that because it's part of the new sculpting?

cheers
brasc
__________________
brasco on vimeo
 
Old 09-13-2012, 09:16 PM   #6
kraemchen
Veteran
 
kraemchen's Avatar
Markus Krämer
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Per-Anders
You can reassign the Resize Brush hotkey from the command manager, when unassigned it will default to the MMB.


Excellent info! Thanks for asking, Brasc, I struggled with the same issue!

Markus
 
Old 09-13-2012, 10:08 PM   #7
rustEdge
that guy
 
rustEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Gene Carlo Magtoto
Digital Designer, Cinema4D TD & Animator
freelance
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 345
Send a message via Yahoo to rustEdge
Quote:
Originally Posted by brasco
Hi Per, brilliant, Ctrl+MMB it is
Just out of curiosity, this doesn't seem to behave like other commands, is that because it's part of the new sculpting?

cheers
brasc


I think they hard-coded it to any tool that has a brush radius parameter. So it works with the Magnet Tool, Polygon Brush tool, BP brush tools, Sculpting brush tool, etc.

It's the same rewrite where cmd+dragging while in edge/face mode automatically extrudes faces, or when cmd+dragging objects in the viewport copies them instead of the old axis change behavior.
__________________
Do what you want to do, not what you think you want to do.
| ToothedWheel V2 plugin for C4D |UberTracer plugin for C4D |
 
Old 09-13-2012, 10:27 PM   #8
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting TD
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Per-Anders
You can reassign the Resize Brush hotkey from the command manager, when unassigned it will default to the MMB.


cool, good to learn.
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 09-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #9
Newstream
Expert
 
Newstream's Avatar
portfolio
A N
3D-Illustrator, Animator
Newstream
Stockholm, Sweden
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 902
It would be useful if the pinch out/inwards on the apple trackpad could be assigned to the interactive brush size.

Cheers / Alex
__________________
----------| C4D R17 Studio | Rhino 5 | Zbrush 4 |----------
 
Old 09-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.