CGTalk > More Forums > Click Here for: > Nevercenter Silo
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2016, 10:33 PM   #1
Rawz
Scholar
 
Rawz's Avatar
portfolio
Rory Baxter
Toy Gun
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 47
Soften / Harden Edge (game assets)

Does Silo have a tool to control the hardness of edges, similar to that in Maya?

The main use of this would be to control edge hardness on game assets.
 
Old 08-07-2016, 07:24 AM   #2
outburner
psy cop
 
outburner's Avatar
portfolio
clandestine studio
Crescent Island, Cuba
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 159
No, you can do it by breaking apart the edges that you need sharp, or bevel them just a small amount.
I use Silo for games and realtime assets almost exclusively and those methods work.
 
Old 08-07-2016, 08:39 AM   #3
Rawz
Scholar
 
Rawz's Avatar
portfolio
Rory Baxter
Toy Gun
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by outburner
No, you can do it by breaking apart the edges that you need sharp, or bevel them just a small amount.
I use Silo for games and realtime assets almost exclusively and those methods work.


Thanks for the tip.

I was just about to reply to your older post showcasing all your bike racing game graphics - awesome work!
 
Old 08-19-2016, 07:29 AM   #4
Baaaah!
PRO
 
Baaaah!'s Avatar
Paul Sinton
Environment Artist
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to Baaaah!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rawz
Does Silo have a tool to control the hardness of edges, similar to that in Maya?

The main use of this would be to control edge hardness on game assets.


If you're making assets that you want to bake for normal maps then I'd suggest using a different program to setup your edges - particularly if you intend to bake using a cage.

Splitting and beveling edges isn't particularly efficient as it increases vert count considerably in both instances, and in the latter case, can give you odd shading across you object unless you set the normals up correctly on the low res object.

Depends what your doing of course.
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.