CGTalk > Software > Maxon Cinema 4D
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2017, 08:23 PM   #1
actionReaction
Explorer
portfolio
uh oh
NYC,
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Basic Vibrate Tag Question

Is there no way to create some time offset for the vibrate tag?!

Just trying to oscillate an object up and down and have really quick controls related to frequency and amplitude, which vibrate tag offers so easily. But I need a time offset.
 
Old 04-20-2017, 08:51 PM   #2
Kaptain Kubrick
Doppelganger Kingpin
 
Kaptain Kubrick's Avatar
Matt White
New Plymouth, New Zealand
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 245
By time offset do you simply mean that you need the object to move and vibrate? I made an xpresso rig ages ago which you can get for free at https://gumroad.com/l/FDMj

The looper section is just motion - you need to use the noise / loop mix and tick the offset function - hopefully that does what you need.


Mota
 
Old 04-20-2017, 09:10 PM   #3
actionReaction
Explorer
portfolio
uh oh
NYC,
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks for your quick reply!By time offset I mean:

Let's say I put two identical vibrate tags on two spheres. Both spheres will move perfectly in sync. I want one sphere to start its cycle a few frames after the first, so that the spheres are a little out of sync with eachother.

I'm not sure offset on your tool would do that, but maybe it would?
 
Old 04-20-2017, 09:56 PM   #4
vid2k2
Expert
 
vid2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,735
After key framing the first sphere ... dup it and move it ahead in the timeline ...
not sure that will do it though.

The jiggle deformer has a falloff and tuts are on youtube ... like EJ Hassenfratz (sp?)
__________________
David

iMac 3.06 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo / 16 GB / OS 10.9.5 / C4D StudioR12 / CS6

R.I.P. 11.02.11 ... my dear friend .
 
Old 04-21-2017, 01:53 AM   #5
jed1949
Scout
portfolio
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 31
If you mean object 2 moves exactly as object 1 but with say 10 F delay, just have the vibrate tag on one object and use a memory node

object 1 position Y out > memory node > object 2 position Y in
 
Old 04-21-2017, 08:34 PM   #6
travismetcalf
Guy
 
travismetcalf's Avatar
portfolio
Travis Metcalf
Sparkworks Media
Seattle, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 131
Here is a scene with a quick expresso setup using Jed1949's suggestion.

There is a custom user data field in the follower cube where you select which object to follow and the frame delay.

The leader cube is animated with a vibrate tag.

a couple things to note. Your results for the first number of frames less than the FrameDelay user field will have nonsense results due to the nature of the Memory node. E.g. if you set the frameDelay to 5, frames 0-4 will have nonsense results for your following cube.

Also, the Memory node requires a History Depth parameter (set from within the xpresso setup). i believe this is creating the buffer from which the historic data is cached. I just arbitrarily set it to 500 frames. It must be 1 larger than your frameDelay parameter.

*EDIT* forgot to mention that the example scene is setup to use just the Y position of the two cubes. you can easily change this in the Xpresso setup to suit your needs
Attached Files
File Type: zip followVibrate.c4d.zip (72.0 KB, 0 views)
 
Old 04-22-2017, 10:21 AM   #7
cubeman
PRO
portfolio
Manfred Kostka
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 194
A small addition to travismetcalf's setup:
Attached Files
File Type: zip time offset.c4d.zip (44.3 KB, 0 views)
 
Old 04-22-2017, 11:06 AM   #8
jed1949
Scout
portfolio
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 31
travismetcalf - re: 1st few frames nonsense results - since shift + F rewinds back to zero, holding down shift + F 'clears' the accumulated data in the memory buffer.
 
Old 04-22-2017, 07:33 PM   #9
actionReaction
Explorer
portfolio
uh oh
NYC,
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
memory node is so interesting! Going to be so useful. Thank you all!!!
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.