CGTalk > Software > Compositing Software > The Foundry Nuke
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2013, 05:26 PM   #1
Vurian
New Member
portfolio
Bryan Martinez
B15 Studios
Forest%2BHIlls, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Reflection Alpha passes

Greetings CG Society,

I have a quick question, at the moment I am working on a project with VRay and Nuke attempting to figure out how to change colors and redo lighting in post. Those steps are easy and I have successfully gotten all the appropriate passes working, however I can't seem to render out an alpha for reflections. As an example I have rendered a red reflective sphere with some GI lighting, getting some nice bounce light on the floor and all the fine detail needed. In nuke I used the alpha and some other passes to change the sphere to a nice blue color, kinda basic previs type work. Unfortunately the reflection on the ground stayed red. I have followed a couple different tutorials and scoured every check box in VRay to see if i could find a solution. No such luck. The best tutorial I found was for an older version of Max (http://www.workshop.mintviz.com/tut...sing-v-ray-2-0/) but its exactly what we need to do. I hope that someone here on CG has a solution for me :/.

Software:
Maya 2013
VRay 2.0 for Maya
Nuke v7.08
 
Old 06-27-2013, 11:32 PM   #2
beaker
Meep!
 
beaker's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Deke Kincaid
VR Pipeline Supervisor
DD
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,538
Send a message via ICQ to beaker Send a message via AIM to beaker Send a message via MSN to beaker Send a message via Yahoo to beaker
You don't really need an alpha for a reflection. All you have to do is plus it onto the other passes.
__________________
-deke
 
Old 06-28-2013, 06:15 AM   #3
Vurian
New Member
portfolio
Bryan Martinez
B15 Studios
Forest%2BHIlls, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Adding the reflections isn't an issue, it's gaining the unique control to change the color of everything together.
 
Old 06-28-2013, 06:15 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.