CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 01:51 AM   #1
Richard7666
Expert
portfolio
Richard
New Zealand
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 453
Any furniture/archviz model libraries for Maya + Vray?

I see outfits like Evermotion offer models complete with shaders for 3ds Max + Vray, is there anything similar for Maya? It would be a huge timesaver to be able to plop 'ready to go' models into my Maya scenes instead of messing around from scratch.

Even with Sunday Pipeline + bazuka's wonderful Vray materials pack, it can still take time to mess around getting things looking right applying them to free models.
 
Old 03-21-2013, 02:44 AM   #2
Hamburger
Expert
portfolio
Where is it?
Architectural Viz
Australia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,014
Nope. Everything will be for Max and Max only.

But there are plenty of good libraries that have obj, fbx and 3ds options, you'll just have to set-up your own shaders. Which isn't hard when you have basic Maya attribute presets as a lot of furniture comes with textures anyway...wood, aluminium, chrome, plastic, leather and a basic fabric is all you really need to get started and use V-Ray's fresnel texture a lot.

Here's some good sites I've used if you want nice models:

http://www.modelplusmodel.com/free.html
http://www.designconnected.com/cata...filter/free_c12
http://archive3d.net/
http://www.vitra.com/en-us/home/

After ages of sourcing models on sundays and saving furniture from projects I've been able to modify LevelTools to be able to swap in furniture instead of sunday pipeline.



Not sure why something like this or LevelTools doesn't exist in Maya by default anyway, Asset management is something that would be useful in most people's workflow.

For materials, I've been eyeing off "Siger Shader Pro" for Maya but am waiting until you can save your own presets. I'd buy it in a heartbeat when it does that.

Also, this site recently popped up:
http://vray-maya-materials.com/

Quote:
, it can still take time to mess around getting things looking right applying them to free models.


I think it is this way regardless of where the model came from. I mean Evermotion doesn't even use linear workflow in a lot of their scenes, or physical sky or any tonemapping but their scenes look good. So it's no silver bullet to get props looking good.

Last edited by Hamburger : 03-21-2013 at 02:56 AM.
 
Old 03-21-2013, 02:44 AM   #3
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.