CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 04:36 AM   #1
lhitch
PRO
 
lhitch's Avatar
portfolio
Lance Hitchings
Owner
Hitchings Design
Portland, US
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to lhitch Send a message via Yahoo to lhitch

Converting UV's & texture from one mesh to another

I'm building a 3D caricature.

I started by building an accurate model of the person. I then did a simple planar UV projection on the Z axis.

I exported the UV snapshot and opened it in photoshop. I brought in the front face image that I used as the front image plane and adjusted it to fit the front UV projection. I applied the resulting image to a lambert shader and attached it to the mesh. It fit really well, if you're only looking at the face from the front. The sides and back are wonky, but that's OK. (see 1st image attached)

I then altered the mesh to make the caricature. Since the mesh still had the same UV map, the texture still fit really well. We'll call this mesh 1. (see 2nd image attached)

I then duplicated the caricature mesh, and properly UV mapped the second mesh. We'll call this mesh 2. (see 3rd image attached)

I'd like to bake out the texture from the front projection of mesh 1 as an image file, but using the new UV layout from mesh 2, so that I can use resulting image file as a guide or template for hand-painting a new texture of the face the fits the proper UV map.

In other words, I'd like to somehow project or bake out the texture from mesh 1 (the one with the front projection) onto mesh 2 (the one with the proper UV map) and then bake that texture to a file.

Ultimately, I want to wind up with a texture file that is the original front face image from mesh 1, that is now re-mapped to fit the proper UV layout from mesh 2.

Not sure I'm explaining this very well. Ask questions if you're not getting it.

I've tried creating a 2nd empty UV set for the 2nd mesh and pasting the UV's from the 1st mesh into it, but that didn't even begin to work.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks,
Lance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg original-mesh.jpg (54.3 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Mesh-1.jpg (50.6 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg mesh-2.jpg (59.3 KB, 6 views)

Last edited by lhitch : 06-25-2013 at 05:02 AM.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 06:21 AM   #2
3dframework
PRO
jon shoelace
3dframework
scotland, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 67
Subdivide the model and convert texture to vertex colours then bake a diffuse from that? or do the same thing in zbrush with polypaint from texture> texture from polypaint
 
Old 06-25-2013, 09:15 AM   #3
lhitch
PRO
 
lhitch's Avatar
portfolio
Lance Hitchings
Owner
Hitchings Design
Portland, US
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to lhitch Send a message via Yahoo to lhitch

I've still got the problem that the model I'm baking the texture from has the wrong UV's, so the final texture map will be mapped to those UV's, not from mesh 2.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
JasonA
Expert
 
JasonA's Avatar
portfolio
Jason Adank
3D Artist
Portland, USA
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,354
Iv found myself in this situation alot lately with some older assets ive been working with.

You can transfer the color map from one mesh to another (and from one uv layout to another) using the Transfer Maps functions available in the lighting menus. This assumes the model has changed shape too drastically. In my case, the models were identical, only the UVs had changed.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 12:54 PM   #5
antweiler
Expert
 
antweiler's Avatar
Robert Kopf
Senior 3D-Artist
MBL Development
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 546
I second that. Using Transfer Maps to bake the texture from the model with the planar UVs to the one with proper UVs is the way to go. It works
 
Old 06-25-2013, 05:59 PM   #6
lhitch
PRO
 
lhitch's Avatar
portfolio
Lance Hitchings
Owner
Hitchings Design
Portland, US
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to lhitch Send a message via Yahoo to lhitch

Brilliant! That totally worked. Thanks, guys.
 
Old 06-25-2013, 05:59 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.