CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Maya
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 11:48 AM   #1
maxtate
New Member
portfolio
max
boston, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
exporting null data to AE

I've tracked my scene, created some geometry and animated a object (airplane) moving in and out of the geometry. I'd like to composite some greenscreen footage of my head following along with the airplane in after effects. How do I export the (airplane) animation data as a null to after effects so that I can simply attach my greenscreen asset to the null and be done?

Thanks in advance
MT
 
Old 11-20-2012, 08:55 AM   #2
Kyron
Cat lover
 
Kyron's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Kragh
Method Studios
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 326
If you only need the transforms with no animation on, just create a locator and bake it as an .ma file. Remmeber to do the same with your camera. Edit > keys > bake simulation.

If you need the locator to move along an object, you can parent constrain the locator to your geometry.
 
Old 11-20-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
kuschel33
Frequenter
 
kuschel33's Avatar
portfolio
Markus Seiler
Leipzig, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 163
Send a message via ICQ to kuschel33
My last information was, that your locators have to be named NULL1, NULL2, ...
__________________
--> COME GET SOME <--
 
Old 11-20-2012, 09:08 PM   #4
Kyron
Cat lover
 
Kyron's Avatar
portfolio
Christian Kragh
Method Studios
Copenhagen, Denmark
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuschel33
My last information was, that your locators have to be named NULL1, NULL2, ...


Yes this is true. Sorry I completely forgot about that. They have to be named null<something>, for AE to be able to read them as Null objects.

Heres a small test scene with an animated camera and cube and 4 locators.
They have all been baked. The constraints on the locators can be deleted, I just left them there so you can see how they work.
When you import it into AE, remember that the NULL objects have an opacity of 0%. You should also scale them down a bit since they are enormous.

http://www.speedyshare.com/rajau/Maya2AE.ma
 
Old 11-24-2012, 08:59 PM   #5
maxtate
New Member
portfolio
max
boston, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
thank you so much for your replies. I will try your recs and get back to you
mt
 
Old 11-24-2012, 08:59 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.