CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 04:58 AM   #1
RPM
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan Maguire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 44
displacement problem

Any suggestions on why this is happening?

Also does anyone know if a displacement map gets exported with a .OBJ material ?

Thanks,
Ryan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture4.jpg (78.6 KB, 20 views)

Last edited by RPM : 02-04-2013 at 05:08 AM.
 
Old 02-04-2013, 07:47 AM   #2
Bullit
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,305
Difficult to say without looking, are you displacing the whole tire?
 
Old 02-04-2013, 01:36 PM   #3
RPM
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan Maguire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 44
no i am only displacing the side walls and grooves in the tread.
 
Old 02-04-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
Rez007
Expert
 
Rez007's Avatar
portfolio
Rudy G.
Mobile Games, Digital Artist, Designer and Animator
Co-Founder of 2GMG (2 Guys Making Games) and RG3D | www.rg3d.com
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Hi, I am not 100 percent sure on this, but if you are using Menral Ray, it might be an issue with Mental Ray's mesh splitting. Check in the Mental Ray PPG and look at this area - I am not infront of Softimage right now. Sorry I dont have a more detailed answer, just an idea.
 
Old 02-04-2013, 10:51 PM   #5
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
Mesh might be too dense or the UVs have an odd alignment.
If it's a sparsely topologized, highly subdivided mesh with the SDS taking care of going around some corners and stuff like that, and you are displacing thin shells, it's fairly common to have that level of tearing.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:25 AM   #6
RPM
Veteran
portfolio
Ryan Maguire
Canada
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 44
thanks for the replies..
problem solved , your right rez007
there wasnt enough memory for mental ray, i adjusted the mesh splitting factor to .1 and it rendered fine.

time to upgrade my laptop from 8gb to 32gb

thanks for the help
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:44 PM   #7
Rez007
Expert
 
Rez007's Avatar
portfolio
Rudy G.
Mobile Games, Digital Artist, Designer and Animator
Co-Founder of 2GMG (2 Guys Making Games) and RG3D | www.rg3d.com
USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM
thanks for the replies..
problem solved , your right rez007
there wasnt enough memory for mental ray, i adjusted the mesh splitting factor to .1 and it rendered fine.

time to upgrade my laptop from 8gb to 32gb

thanks for the help


Anytime, I am glad it worked out for you.
 
Old 02-05-2013, 04:44 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.