CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2009, 07:50 PM   #1
gscarabel
New Member
portfolio
giuseppe scarabello
philadelphia, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Smoothness From 3ds To Rhino

Hi guys

I'm new of the forum and a rhino beginner.

I've imported a 3ds file from 3ds to rhino, exporting it previously from c4d.
The problem is that the model seems having a smoothness instead of hard edges and when I render it looks as if burnt.

Don't know how to adjust it. c4d doesn't give me helps with smoothness options.
I'm going to be crazy.

many thanks to who wants to help me.
 
Old 01-02-2009, 08:46 PM   #2
phix314
Joat Mon
portfolio
Steve Geer
San Jose, USA
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 921
Send a message via AIM to phix314 Send a message via Yahoo to phix314
Sorry champ. Need some screenshots to see exactly what you're talking about.
 
Old 01-02-2009, 10:25 PM   #3
gscarabel
New Member
portfolio
giuseppe scarabello
philadelphia, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
thanks phix314 for your quick answer. this is the model as I see in my editor and how it looks after render.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rhino_probl_3ds_1.jpg (61.8 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg rhino_probl_3ds_2.jpg (31.8 KB, 26 views)
 
Old 02-05-2009, 03:07 PM   #4
AsKham
Scout
portfolio
Rodrigo Queiroz
Designer
Curitiba, Brazil
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to AsKham Send a message via MSN to AsKham
This problem is probably caused by overlapping edges/faces or normals. Even the picture you had from the viewport looks funny as well. One thing you have to keep in mind when exporting from one software to another is the format. Some formats are better for keeping polygon models and other for curve/nurbs modeling (such as in Rhino).

I don't know C4d, but I guess the modeling you did there was polygon, and I am pretty much sure that Rhino does nurbs modeling. So, my hints are:

1 - make sure the model is 'readable' on both softwares (polygons, nurbs, etc..)
2 - try tweaking the export settings
3 - If neither work, then try fixing the overlapping edges/faces manually.

I think that should work...

Last edited by AsKham : 02-05-2009 at 03:08 PM. Reason: missing words
 
Old 02-05-2009, 03:53 PM   #5
gscarabel
New Member
portfolio
giuseppe scarabello
philadelphia, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Thanx Askham, I'll try thys way and see what happens.
 
Old 02-05-2009, 03:53 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.