CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 07:23 AM   #1
gabriel101x
New Member
portfolio
Gabriel
Maleny, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
How to change gamma of multi sub object

So I have created a model that has a multi sub object material applied to it. The multi sub object consists of a series of standard materials each with a diffuse colour. No textures.
The gamma on everything in my scene looks fine when rendered with a gamma 2.2 setup. However this particular model looks terrible. But the model looks fine with 1 gamma, although with 1 gamma the rest of the scene looks crap then.

So I am wondering how I can change the gamma of this particuar object.
 
Old 12-10-2012, 01:37 PM   #2
robinb
Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 2,908
I think you'll have to change the gamma of the individual bitmaps in the materials on that object.
 
Old 12-10-2012, 01:43 PM   #3
Clanker
PRO
 
Clanker's Avatar
France
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Yes, you need to put a color correction node in the diffuse slot and set the gamma to 1, or load a texture of your flat color and set the gamma manually when you select it.
Not sure how default diffuse color react to LWF. Pretty bad obviously.
__________________

 
Old 12-10-2012, 02:58 PM   #4
johnymac
New Member
portfolio
Johnymac
na, Australia
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
To answer this correctly we would need to know how you have your gamma setup, what renderer you are using mental ray or vray and if you are using just diffuse color in you materials of your model or images of some sort.

The most likely source of error here since your model is ok with one gamma setting and not the other but the rest of your scene is vice versa is your gamma setting.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 02:59 AM   #5
gabriel101x
New Member
portfolio
Gabriel
Maleny, Australia
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
I am rendering the scene with Affect colour selectors and material editor on, and input and output gamma set to 2.2. This is what it looks like and is the look I want:

http://i.imgur.com/KvPj3.png

However the sword he is holding should look like this: http://i.imgur.com/l5vAU.png
This sword picture is rendered with the same settings but with bitmap input and output both set to 1.

As I said in my first post before. The model (the sword) has a multi-sub object material on applied to it. With different standard materials within it. Each of these materials just has a diffuse colour on it, so the 'pixels' are coloured.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 09:16 AM   #6
moulder6
Expert
 
moulder6's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Blackearth
3D Generalist
Sofia, Bulgaria
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 426
Is the gamma actually on? Set to 2.2? If so,you don't need to change the gamma of the individual materials. This is what the input gamma and "affect colors" are for. All you have to do is either darken, or lighten the colors, according to ur preferences.
 
Old 12-11-2012, 09:16 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.