CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 07:09 AM   #1
fael097
Master in MS Paint
 
fael097's Avatar
portfolio
Rafael Adamy
Red Lights
Florianópolis, Brazil
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 264
vray transparency don't work?

Hi, I'm trying to make some sort of semi-transparent black fabric, but it's not going anywhere with vray. this fabric is covering a box with black speakers, and no light gets through, except through the fabric, so the transparency should be very subtle, but apparently that can't be achieved using the refraction on the vray material. I can get either not transparent at all, or too much transparent. here's some screenshots:

using 187/187/187 gray tone on refraction slot: (can't see anything through it)


using 188/188/188 gray tone: (too clear)


when I put a radial gradient map from black to white on it:


does it really work like this? what should i do?
__________________
My portfolio

Last edited by fael097 : 12-13-2012 at 12:37 PM.
 
Old 11-14-2012, 10:36 AM   #2
TheRazorsEdge
detail freak
 
TheRazorsEdge's Avatar
portfolio
Felix Lahme
Essen, Germany
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,058
Have you tried adjusting the opacity map instead of the Refraction color? Not sure about Max right now, but in Vray for Maya, that's what I'd probably try first. If you do want to use Refraction, you could try lowering the glossy samples on the setting that's too transparent and see what that gets you, but I probably wouldn't use Refraction for that type of thing at all. Another option would be to use the Vray2SidedMtl with your regular VrayMtl in the Front Material slot and adjust it's translucency percentage or perhaps even map the latter with a fine grid b&w image.

Cheers!
__________________
"Knowing is not enough, we must apply. Willing is not enough, we must do."-Bruce Lee


 
Old 11-14-2012, 01:12 PM   #3
yog
Vertex basher
 
yog's Avatar
Mark CMark
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,428
I can't see your screenshots, so you might have already done it, but have you done the obvious and clicked the "Transparency Effects Shaddows" checkbox ?
__________________
Kernow bys vykken!!!
 
Old 11-14-2012, 01:12 PM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.